go_away

Author Topic: Stupid question (but just to confirm)  (Read 1501 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LiniasTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful? 0
Stupid question (but just to confirm)
« on: September 04, 2009, 06:33:31 AM »
I am working on building my $50 robot.  I have - in the past - used some of those pre-made educational kits, but never made my own. I am a programmer by trade, but interested in robots.

Anyway... Now for the stupid question:
following the tutorial, it looks like you should build the chassis first, then the electronics.

However, in reading the directions first (something I sometimes do by mistake), it looks like you need the electronics in order to set the servo to position 0 so you can modify it. Since the servo's are kinda difficult to remove from the chassis, doesn't that mean I really want to make the board before I make the chassis?

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Stupid question (but just to confirm)
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 06:47:23 AM »
yes you will need the board before you can modify the servo, but if you have the measurments of your servos you can build the chassi if your waiting for mail orders and other stuff.

When i build i can generally remove my servos easy so it does not bother me but if you have a complex design with the servos tucked away modify them first.


Offline LiniasTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Stupid question (but just to confirm)
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2009, 06:57:04 AM »
Okay, thanks.

I already have the parts (having ordered them last weekend).  Well, everything but the batteries... which I may kind of need (I ordered the battery kit).

I am hoping to build it this weekend. If the batteries do not come in today, I may have to just use some AA's and a 9V and redo it when the battery pack comes in. :-(

I am sure I will be back this weekend!

Offline WhomBom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Stupid question (but just to confirm)
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009, 07:11:26 AM »
Although it is handy to center your servo's with the board it is not absolutely necessary, if you take them apart you can also set the pot meter to center position yourself.
The only roblem is, if you are a bit off centre you'll need to adjust your programming later on, for instance instead of 1500 us as the magical boundary below which it reverses and above which it rotates forward you might end up with 1600 us or so...

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Stupid question (but just to confirm)
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2009, 04:36:22 PM »
if i was you i would wait till i have a completed board as messing up your servos would be a disaster to code and it is not worth the risk.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list