Author Topic: Batteries used with axon  (Read 1437 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Batteries used with axon
« on: September 15, 2009, 08:47:16 AM »
 I'll be using two servos and 5 IR sensors along with the axon for my bot. can 12V Li-ion batteries be used with axon? If not, what will be mAh rating of the battery(NimH) required for my bot?

servos: http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_5&products_id=187
sensors: http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/958
« Last Edit: September 15, 2009, 10:31:58 AM by ukesh »

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Batteries used with axon
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2009, 01:06:25 PM »
Please read:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/axon_datasheet.shtml

Absolutely max voltage for the Axon is 10V.

As for current . . . the HS-311 uses about 0.4A average, but depends on a lot of other factors, too.

Also:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/axon_FAQ.shtml#sharp_ir_reset

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batteries used with axon
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2009, 07:13:16 PM »
Please read:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/axon_datasheet.shtml

Absolutely max voltage for the Axon is 10V.

As for current . . . the HS-311 uses about 0.4A average, but depends on a lot of other factors, too.

Also:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/axon_FAQ.shtml#sharp_ir_reset


i'll be using my bot for line following application. So the bot must work at least for 15 mins continously. so an 8 volt li-ion battery can be used ?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Batteries used with axon
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2009, 07:21:30 PM »
Its important that you look through the manual. It answers all of your questions :P

Please read:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/axon_datasheet.shtml

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Batteries used with axon
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2009, 02:29:01 AM »
Yes, the 8V battery will work, but can the servos take 8v?
Most hobby servos have a range from 4V8-7V2. 8V will most likely fry them quickly. (or get hot fast)
Howdy

Offline izaktj

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batteries used with axon
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2009, 11:03:55 PM »
A lot of servos used for aerial RC support 11.1V batteries, but I'm not sure if the ESC reduces it though.

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: Batteries used with axon
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2009, 01:02:31 AM »
BEC stands for Battery Eliminator Circuit
A BEC is basically a step down voltage regulator. It will take your main battery voltage (e.g. 11.1 Volts) and reduce it down to ~5 Volts to safely power your receiver and servos.
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/BECFAQ.htm

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,632
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Batteries used with axon
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2009, 04:45:46 AM »
BEC stands for Battery Eliminator Circuit
A BEC is basically a step down voltage regulator. It will take your main battery voltage (e.g. 11.1 Volts) and reduce it down to ~5 Volts to safely power your receiver and servos.
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/BECFAQ.htm

But at a really poor efficiency . . .

Just buy a 6V battery, silly people!  :P
I mean, why put a heavier 8V+ battery on a flying robot when ~1/3 of the energy will be lost from a voltage regulator?

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Batteries used with axon
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2009, 09:19:55 AM »
thnx guys! Ended by buyin an 7.2V battery.

 


Get Your Ad Here