go_away

Author Topic: 2 GHz ARM processor!  (Read 3185 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
2 GHz ARM processor!
« on: September 16, 2009, 10:42:26 AM »
Powerful enough to run an OS, but isn't supported by Windows . . . its about 5x faster than a comparable Intel, given the same power consumption.

http://www.pcpro.co.uk/news/351619/arm-launches-attack-on-intels-netbook-stranglehold
http://channel.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=20233

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: 2 GHz ARM processor!
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2009, 01:02:54 PM »
Things of beauty those ARM processors. I've seen some chatter on this particular one, but I want to see some chatter on robotics implementations for these, even if it comes to be something based on the pico-ITX style computers. Thanks for sharing!
Kurt

Offline radhoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 66
  • Helpful? 1
Re: 2 GHz ARM processor!
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2009, 03:22:13 PM »
Windows CE and Windows Mobile run on ARM processors for years now.

From my point of view, developing an app for XP or for WinMobile is quite the same thing. So I'd say it would be great to use one for a speedy little robot  :D

Offline madchimp

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Helpful? 2
Re: 2 GHz ARM processor!
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2009, 04:01:54 PM »
Windows CE and Windows Mobile run on ARM processors for years now.

Awsome now we can enjoy the great blue screen o death on bots as well! Personally I would think linux would be more suited to a robot since you can actually modify it and only include what is needed.

Offline smartie_on_computer

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 2 GHz ARM processor!
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2009, 08:12:00 PM »
Awsome now we can enjoy the great blue screen o death on bots as well! Personally I would think linux would be more suited to a robot since you can actually modify it and only include what is needed.

As you would find, most smart robots use linux because linux is easier to program and much more reliable than M$

Offline radhoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 66
  • Helpful? 1
Re: 2 GHz ARM processor!
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2009, 05:29:51 AM »
@smartie_on_computer :
Actually I did work with both platforms and there are good things about each.

The joke about MS vs Linux is old and boring now.

Learn one simple thing: "right tool for the right job" and decide based on personal experience what suits you best.

@madchimp:
actually there is no blue screen debug error message on the embedded platforms, and windows CE is modular as well eg. only include what is needed (Platform Builder).

Offline Asellith

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 648
  • Helpful? 9
  • "I'm a leaf on the wind. Watch how I soar"
Re: 2 GHz ARM processor!
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2009, 09:11:45 AM »
Does embedded XP work? We did some playing with it a while ago but didn't dig that far. If it doesn't then maybe they need to work out an embedded windows 7 version that does.
Jonathan Bowen
CorSec Engineering
www.corseceng.com

Offline benji

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 2 GHz ARM processor!
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2009, 01:14:24 PM »
ive always had this question , why need an OS for a robot? im happy to use dedicated programs written in C and the like
good ol' BeNNy

Offline radhoo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 66
  • Helpful? 1
Re: 2 GHz ARM processor!
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2009, 01:29:30 AM »
ive always had this question , why need an OS for a robot? im happy to use dedicated programs written in C and the like
You are so right.

I guess the answer is "because it's easier" (but not optimal)

Think about all the modules you would need to write drivers for if it wasn't the os.

Take for example my latest robot, perseus 3, it easily uses camera, wlan, phone thanks to the os.
Now that you've mentioned it, if I think about how many lines of code are needed for the RIL(radio layer interface) to interace the phone only...that's overkill.

Offline chelmi

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Helpful? 15
Re: 2 GHz ARM processor!
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2009, 08:43:46 AM »
ive always had this question , why need an OS for a robot? im happy to use dedicated programs written in C and the like
You are so right.

I guess the answer is "because it's easier" (but not optimal)

Think about all the modules you would need to write drivers for if it wasn't the os.

Take for example my latest robot, perseus 3, it easily uses camera, wlan, phone thanks to the os.
Now that you've mentioned it, if I think about how many lines of code are needed for the RIL(radio layer interface) to interace the phone only...that's overkill.

Just a remark about the "not optimal" part: if you are crazy enough to write everything from scratch (driver, scheduler, process management, ...) you will end up with ... an OS. Probably using the same structure of an actual OS (kernel, "user-space" tasks...), because it's the only way to keep things maintainable.

Unrelated:
If you are interested in embedded OS, take a look at RTLinux. Basically it's a real time scheduler that runs between the Linux kernel and the hardware. Task are are guaranted to be executed when you want them to be, contrary to Linux processes where there is no guarantees at all. The complete Linux system is itself a low priority task in the real time scheduler. So you have the best of the two worlds: a low level, real-time system for critical tasks and high level OS for mundane stuff.
Another good reason not to use windows embedded (a non real time OS) in a robot :p

Chelmi.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list