Author Topic: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting  (Read 5636 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #30 on: September 21, 2009, 11:36:07 AM »
Quote
Tell me what you are going to try, and we'll verify its safe before you do it.
First say i want to measure the current from the battery, where do i have to keep the 2 probes from the multimeter?

Nest, say if i want to measure the current drawn by the servo. where do i have to keep the 2 probes from the multimeter?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #31 on: September 21, 2009, 11:56:03 AM »
ukesh, I know you want me to give you the answer to everything, but it isn't fair to me.

You need to learn how to read the manual, search google, and generally try hard to figure it out before asking a question.

It'll be faster for you, too, to simply google search now than wait a few hours for me to help.

read this, start to finish, no excuses :P
http://www.sciencebuddies.org/science-fair-projects/project_ideas/Elec_primer-multimeter.shtml

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #32 on: September 21, 2009, 12:03:35 PM »
Sure admin!As you say! ;)
I'll get back with you as soon as i measure the current! ;D
« Last Edit: September 21, 2009, 12:04:52 PM by ukesh »

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #33 on: September 22, 2009, 06:46:24 AM »
Quote
Measure the current to each device, something is draining too much power.
A small doubt, should i check the current drawn by a servo directly on the axon or should i check it on a breadboard?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #34 on: September 22, 2009, 06:48:54 AM »
I'd just use wires and gator clips . . . whatever is easiest for you.

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #35 on: September 22, 2009, 07:42:49 AM »
k admin, I tried to measure & got an value. I dont know whether the method is correct or not.  I connected the red probe of the mutimeter to the positive of the battery. Black probe of the multimeter to the positive terminal of the servo & connected the negative of the battery to the negative terminal of the servo. I set the multimeter range to 200mA and got the value as 10.5. Is this correct?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #36 on: September 22, 2009, 08:14:37 AM »
You have to tell the servo to do something or it won't use any current :P

So far the connections sound correct.

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #37 on: September 22, 2009, 08:22:39 AM »
Quote
So far the connections sound correct.
thanks!. Okay the default axon code is stored in the axon. When i turned on the axon and pushed the button, the servo started to run, but the multimeter showed the value 1 ???

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #38 on: September 22, 2009, 09:32:03 AM »
Thats because you have it set for 200mA, and it maxed out :P

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #39 on: September 22, 2009, 09:42:49 AM »
Quote
Thats because you have it set for 200mA, and it maxed out
fine..i set the limit to 10A & the value i get is 0.18 when the servo runs.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2009, 10:03:08 AM by ukesh »

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #40 on: September 22, 2009, 09:59:10 AM »
Ukesh, I'm going to reply less often (like only once a day). That'll encourage you to research/try before asking :P

(yes, use the setting for the proper measurement)

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #41 on: September 22, 2009, 10:04:20 AM »
Ukesh, I'm going to reply less often (like only once a day). That'll encourage you to research/try before asking :P

(yes, use the setting for the proper measurement)

Sorry admin, pls check my previous post. I modified it. anyways il post again :P
i set the limit to 10A & the value i get is 0.18 when the servo runs.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2009, 10:07:27 AM by ukesh »

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #42 on: September 24, 2009, 08:35:21 AM »
hey admin! Measured the current as you said, But no reply from you. . .?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #43 on: September 24, 2009, 11:46:33 AM »
both servos do the same?

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #44 on: September 25, 2009, 10:37:46 AM »
Quote
both servos do the same?
Yes, both the servos show the same values..

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #45 on: September 25, 2009, 11:20:02 AM »
Can you tell me one more time exactly what battery you are using? A link or part number?

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #46 on: September 27, 2009, 11:10:00 PM »
Yes, Its Ni mh 1.2V 2100mAh batteries made by sanyo connected in series. it looks like this
http://www.greenbatteries.com/sa23mahaanib.html

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,663
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #47 on: September 28, 2009, 07:11:40 AM »
Yes, Its Ni mh 1.2V 2100mAh batteries made by sanyo connected in series. it looks like this
http://www.greenbatteries.com/sa23mahaanib.html

5 of them in series?

I need to know the exact battery name. The problems/symptoms you describe are that of an insufficient power supply. Either your batteries aren't rated to supply enough current, or they are old/damaged, or your charger isn't fully charging them.

I recommend trying different batteries.

Offline ukeshTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Helpful? 0
Re: URGENT! axon Keeps Resetting
« Reply #48 on: October 03, 2009, 11:02:45 AM »
Hey admin, I dont have my axon now, so i cant test my servos. IL get back when i get back my axon:)

 


Get Your Ad Here