Author Topic: Wire  (Read 2386 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NOOBinDistressTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
  • Helpful? 0
Wire
« on: April 20, 2007, 11:56:46 AM »
Ok I just got some help from a guy in software and he said I need 22-28 gauge wire for  my  robots. I am currently doing the 50 dollar robot tutorial. I am at the part where you need to wire some things together when making the board. The tutorial never specifies what gauge wire to use. I have 20 and 22 gauge speaker wire. "Branndon" says I should use 22 awg. I  have this but it is speaker wire. I that what I should be using?Thanks.

Offline NOOBinDistressTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Wire
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2007, 12:00:06 PM »
One more thing the wire comes attatched with another wire ( a black one and a purple one). Do I split these apart and use them seperately, or do I leave them connected? Remember it is speaker wire. Thanks.

I think I will just split the wires and try it. PLease tell me if what I am doing is right. Thanks.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2007, 01:29:46 PM by NOOBinDistress »

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Wire
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2007, 01:46:07 PM »
you can leave it together when using it for the photosensors, and rip them apart for wiring under teh pc board.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline NOOBinDistressTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Wire
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2007, 07:32:10 PM »
Ok, thanks. So when I can pull them apart until I add the sulfide photocells? Thanks.

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: Wire
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2007, 07:52:33 PM »
This is common sence. pull them apart when you need one wire, or keep them together when you have 2 wires running parrallel
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Brandon121233

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
  • Helpful? 0
  • "Genius is %1 inspiration and %99 perspiration"
Re: Wire
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2007, 09:31:06 PM »
Yeah, you should be just fine with that kind of wire- I used to use it all the time for various applications, the only thing you shouldn't use it for is powering a 6V "lantern" battery or a car battery, as its likely to go up in smoke ;)
Hell, there are no rules here—we're
   trying to accomplish something.

                                                                              —Thomas Edison

 


Get Your Ad Here