go_away

Author Topic: Problem with Bootloader !  (Read 1703 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hasan999Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 1
Problem with Bootloader !
« on: September 25, 2009, 12:06:14 PM »
Hi, im new to this...

I don't have a Hardware programmer...

I followed the steps to get started, and upload a program to Axon Microcontroller... BUT... The very last step causes problem..

[Last step] when I goto CMD, type FBOOT17.EXE -b115200 -c1 -pTest1.hex -vTest1.hex ...I get this error (attached)...  I made my Microcontroller's USB to UART Bridge Controller COM to 1, and still the same error. (even if the COM is something else, it would still say "cannot open COM1" !)

Also, I couldn't do Step4: Test USB ...(that Hyperterminal thingy) ... i can't make it work.. it keeps giving me Error msgs.  [Should I try to resolve this problem first? - would it be the cause to Uploading problem?]

Please help !!...

(Why is "uploading" so complicated ... why can't it be simply Plug n Play ! .....Axon ) >:(

Thanks..

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Problem with Bootloader !
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2009, 01:13:51 PM »
Quote
when I goto CMD, type FBOOT17.EXE -b115200 -c1 -pTest1.hex -vTest1.hex ...I get this error (attached)...  I made my Microcontroller's USB to UART Bridge Controller COM to 1, and still the same error. (even if the COM is something else, it would still say "cannot open COM1" !)
How/why did you change the COM port? (I'm not very familiar with Vista)
What was the COM port defaulted as before you changed it? Try using that port and then programming the Axon. Is the USB detected when you plug it in?


ps - at least give us a chance to help you debug before using a frowny face! :P

Offline Hasan999Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Problem with Bootloader !
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2009, 02:23:36 PM »
Quote
How/why did you change the COM port?

I changed it from Device Manager, Advance option in the properties of the device.

Quote
What was the COM port defaulted as before you changed it?

It was COM6 before.

and the reason I changed it was the same, it didnt work with COM6... i tried COM1 and COM2, but got the same error.. (I couldn't try COM3 and 4 because they were "in use' by something I don't even know).

Quote
Is the USB detected when you plug it in?

yes yes, it also installed the driver (automatically) successfully.

Thanks.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Problem with Bootloader !
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2009, 11:53:26 AM »
Try it on another computer . . .

Quote
yes yes, it also installed the driver (automatically) successfully
Just to verify, it says its plugged in when its plugged in, right?

Offline Hasan999Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 1
Re: Problem Resolved
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2009, 12:47:09 PM »
Yup... I tried on my old PC... and it worked !! without any problem !...

Later I realized that the problem was because the MicroController (USP) could not communicate with the COM port.
To solve the problem.. i went to HyperTerminal... selected the corresponding COM(port), set the rate 115200, and then I click "Call" connect, and disconnect !...and close HT.  This makes sure that the PC can communicate with the uC.

Thanks Admin !

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,659
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Problem with Bootloader !
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2009, 12:54:05 PM »
Well, you can only have one program use a COM port at a time. :P

 


Get Your Ad Here