go_away

Author Topic: Is such a system possible?  (Read 1203 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline katobTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Is such a system possible?
« on: September 27, 2009, 06:57:33 AM »
After having read the tutorials on microcontrollers and UART, I have some insights on what they are. Having no background in electronics, I wish to consult the board on a system I have in mind:

This systems consists of 2 robots (robot A and robot B) connected via a 40m tether. Robot A is an underwater vessel carrying a video camera and some sensors  and its means of propulsion while Robot B is a surface vessel with its own propulsion. While Robot A captures video, it is transmitted via the tether to Robot B, which is then transmitted wirelessly to the operator on shore. To control Robot B, the operator sends control signals wirelessly to Robot B's receiver. To control Robot A, the control signal from operator is relayed from Robot B via the tether.

For the case of Robot A, it has 3 speed controllers connected to 3 DC motors, a video camera and 3 sensors. In order to transmit all data in and out of Robot B, I understand that a microcontroller is needed and UART capability will be helpful. For instance, if I decided that the tether is a ethernet cable, all I need is a TTL to ethernet adapter. My concern now is whether a microcontroller is capable of handling such configuration for Robot A.

For Robot B, since there is a tether (ethernet cable) coming from Robot A, do I need to connect the tether to the microcontroller of Robot B or do I connect it straight to a radio transceiver to be transmitted wirelessly? Also for Robot B, how do I connect its microcontroller to the radio tranceiver? What is the device or adaptor that I need? The wireless range is at most 360m.

Thank you for your advice.

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Is such a system possible?
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2009, 07:05:45 AM »
Hi,

You'll need a bit more than a microcontrollers and an ethernet cable to send video from A to B.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline katobTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is such a system possible?
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2009, 07:14:12 AM »
Oh man, just when I thought I know enough to make this system happen. Oh well, I guess there is a lot more to learn. Can you perhaps show me some direction on what other hardware I need? I shall do more research on them.

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Is such a system possible?
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2009, 08:51:34 AM »
Hi,


What is the maximum distance between A and B?
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline katobTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is such a system possible?
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2009, 09:29:36 AM »
Distance between A and B is limited by the 40m tether while distance between operator and B is 360m

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Is such a system possible?
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2009, 02:22:45 PM »
Hi,

Then you would be better off with broadcast quality coaxial cable for the video feed alongside perhaps the ethernet cable for control/sensor signals.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline katobTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Is such a system possible?
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2009, 06:06:21 PM »
Am I right to say that means a composite tether? Well I've considered that before, but I was hoping to simplify the tether by using only one type of cable.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list