2

Author Topic: Robotic arm  (Read 1915 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline icoms8Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
  • Helpful? 0
Robotic arm
« on: October 06, 2009, 01:52:17 PM »
i was reading the arm tutorial and i have one simple question, instead of motors can you use servos and no encoders?

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Robotic arm
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2009, 02:22:32 PM »
Yes, in fact it's easier to implement it that way (way less control lines needed).
Kurt

Offline Joker94

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,119
  • Helpful? 26
Re: Robotic arm
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2009, 07:21:31 PM »
Yes, in fact it's easier to implement it that way (way less control lines needed).

not to mention the code needed to read the encoders and all of the other electronics asociated with the motors.

Offline galannthegreat

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Helpful? 4
  • Blue-Lensed Blue LEDs?! What?! Impossible!!
Re: Robotic arm
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2009, 08:39:19 PM »
Yes, definately, good point.
Kurt

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Robotic arm
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2009, 08:39:55 PM »
i was reading the arm tutorial and i have one simple question, instead of motors can you use servos and no encoders?

gasp, you have not seen my ERP yet?! :o
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robot_ERP.shtml

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list