Author Topic: I need 200V  (Read 2828 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
I need 200V
« on: April 23, 2007, 09:15:11 AM »
I have this project where I need to generate at least 200V and probably more around 900V, but I only need about 1mA maximum in current (probably less).

The other requirement is that at least one dimension on the device needs to be less than 1cm.

So the question is, what can I do (or buy) to obtain this voltage?

My thought was possibly some kind of charge pump, or multiple charge pumps in series.

(yea, yet another strange question that Im not allowed to elaborate on)

Offline hazzer123

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 460
  • Helpful? 3
Re: I need 200V
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2007, 09:49:18 AM »
Could you possibly modify a photo flash capacitor charger? They have voltages of 300V outputted using just a AA battery. They are pretty small aswell.

The 1cm dimension you mentioned, could that be the height of the components on the board? Or did you mean width and height of the board?

Imperial College Robotics Society
www.icrobotics.co.uk

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: I need 200V
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2007, 10:13:56 AM »
Quote
The 1cm dimension you mentioned, could that be the height of the components on the board? Or did you mean width and height of the board?
thats just one dimension, the other 2 can be any reasonable size

Offline hazzer123

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 460
  • Helpful? 3
Re: I need 200V
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2007, 10:25:17 AM »
Then these boards may be good for you :)
I think that if you needed higher current, that you would simply need to add a larger voltage to the supply as well. Im not sure though.
Imperial College Robotics Society
www.icrobotics.co.uk

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: I need 200V
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2007, 11:32:56 AM »
oh and forgot to mention this so i will just in case . . .

The entire robot (including battery) needs to be smaller than 1cm in one of its dimensions . . . crazy, I know, but I dont make up the requirements for these kinds of things . . .

Offline hazzer123

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 460
  • Helpful? 3
Re: I need 200V
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2007, 11:56:36 AM »
Ive just measured an old board that i had from a disposable camera and the tallest component is the transformer, and it is just about 1cm.

The 1.5V could come from an AAA alkaline battery which are 10.5mm in diameter. (is that too big?) That should be plenty of current i think...

(edit - there are AAAA batteries with a diameter of 8.6mm. Hmmm never seen them before.)
« Last Edit: April 23, 2007, 12:01:41 PM by hazzer123 »
Imperial College Robotics Society
www.icrobotics.co.uk

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: I need 200V
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2007, 12:01:47 PM »

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: I need 200V
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2007, 02:19:27 PM »
some transformers in serial, and a thin battery should do
transformers for camera's are pretty small
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline AdminTopic starter

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,658
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: I need 200V
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2007, 08:29:00 AM »
Looking in to it more I found that a CCFL (cold cathode fluorescent lamp) driver can generate between 200V to 1500V in a tiny package. They are commonly used to power the backlight of LCD panels, and can also be found in cameras. They tend to give out a PWM (on/off square wave) of about 1-50khz . . .

An example of a 1100V CCFL for 4mA image is attached as an example . . .

And a datasheet for cxa-k0505-vjl (from digikey at $25) with specs
https://www.tdk.co.jp/tefe02/ea441_cxak0505.pdf

Maxim has some CCFL drivers too, but still looking around . . .

Offline nanob0t

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 145
  • Helpful? 0
  • Trust Your Technolust
Re: I need 200V
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2007, 09:23:38 AM »
This website has plans available in order to produce your own voltage regulator.  I believe they have a variety of plans and it's possible to get something up to 2000 volts.  Although they do have stuff that produces 1,000,000 volts.  It's something like 2000 volts at 5mA.  Take a look, perhaps there's something useful:

http://www.amazing1.com/hv-dc-power-supplies.htm

 


Get Your Ad Here