go_away

Author Topic: Webbot Lib and Linux  (Read 3672 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chelmiTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Helpful? 15
Webbot Lib and Linux
« on: October 28, 2009, 09:53:04 PM »
Hi guys,

I finally took some time to try out the WebbotLib. I cannot manage to compile my application though :(

I added the install directory to the include paths (-I) but gcc keeps complaining about a header file

Code: [Select]
/home/michel/Workspace/WebbotLib/1.11/sys/../device.h:22:29: error: dev/ATMega168.h: No such file or directory

The file is where it is supposed to be of course...

Did anyone actually manage to used the lib in linux? (or in windows but in command line, I'm sure we will hit the same problem).

Chelmi.

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2009, 11:14:20 AM »
Haven't got Unix so can only be of limited help but...

What does your complete command line look like?
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline chelmiTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 496
  • Helpful? 15
Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2009, 01:51:04 PM »
I just solved the issue:, it was obvious
File names are case sensitive in linux. In device.h the file included is ATMega168.h but the actual file is named ATmega168.h

I fixed the typo, as well as another one in _uart_common.h

Do you want me to send you a patch? I can also check in my change on CVS if you want.

I now have link issues (undefined reference to configure_ports), but I'm think I know why.

Chelmi.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2009, 01:54:12 PM by chelmi »

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2009, 02:06:58 PM »
Hi Chelmi,
I can also check in my change on CVS if you want.
Chelmi.

CVS - Go for it - be the first person besides me to contribute directly into the source code !! Since its the first time - then shout/PMme when you are done so I can make sure I can pickup your change.

Thanks for your help!

Hopefully I'll learn from your changes so I can avoid similar issues, or fix for other devices, - but, without Unix, cant promise - so I welcome your input.

Webbot

« Last Edit: October 31, 2009, 02:18:08 PM by Webbot »
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,150
  • Helpful? 109
Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2009, 12:54:40 PM »
I know I'm resurrecting an old topic but...

The whole lib has now had a Unix revamp. So it should also now be re-buildable from the source code as well as the previous revamp that allowed you to 'use it' from Unix.


Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2010, 10:27:35 PM »
for anyone out there running without windows (and hence without AVR Studio)
there is a Makefile (to get you past the AVR Studio setup phase in the WebbotLib documentation) in the WebbotLib Mac thread here: http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=9527.0

dunk.

Offline dunk

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,086
  • Helpful? 21
Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2010, 03:15:09 PM »
there's now a wee doc on Compiling with WebbotLib without using AVR Studio.

http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/381


dunk.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list