go_away

Author Topic: electronics question  (Read 3588 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
electronics question
« on: April 27, 2007, 04:16:51 PM »
I'm kinda starting to understand circuits and stuff, so this thread is to get rid of any doubts I ever get.

http://www.allegromicro.com/en/Products/Part_Numbers/2559/2559.pdf
what do you use K for?(pins 2 and 7)
my guess is just plain + or -


and put +5v to pin 14, with a .1uf cap.
no need to do the weird thing with pull up or down resistors?
or output high to that pin with mcu
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: electronics question
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2007, 04:22:37 PM »
ohh and put diodes on outputs.
any need for caps on the imput?
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: electronics question
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2007, 03:12:57 PM »
bumpity bump
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Hal9000

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 338
  • Helpful? 0
Re: electronics question
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2007, 04:21:02 PM »
Yeah, I couldn't find what K means either. The datasheet isn't very comprehensive.
"The truth is, you can't hide from the truth, cos the truth is all there is" - Handsome Boy Modeling School

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,657
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: electronics question
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2007, 07:20:33 PM »
hmmmm I cant figure it out either. I searched the PDF but it says nothing about it.

Looking at the Functional Block Diagram for clues . . . it appears that K can be ignored without any effect. I think K is for a special external feature, such as measuring out voltage? :-\

Offline pwdixon

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 1
Re: electronics question
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2010, 08:14:50 AM »
I know this is old but someone might read this post and want a real answer.

The K pin is to a protection diode that normally gets connected to the power rail of the load you are switching.  The function of the diode is to capture high voltage spikes caused by inductive loads as these would possibly destroy the output transistor or radiate electrical noise.  I would guess they chose the letter K as it's the (c/k)athode of the diode.

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,930
  • Helpful? 98
Re: electronics question
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2010, 01:07:42 PM »
Just saw this thread revived. The last post has the answer. The pins labeled K allows use of the diode to protect the device against inductive loads. Tie those pins to the top side of the inductive load.

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: electronics question
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2010, 01:48:12 PM »
Just to clarify, the chip has a built in diode for inductive loads. If it didn't have one, you would add one to your circuit. But since it has one, you just tie K to the high side of your inductive load and then you are protected.

You can drive relays using these with no more parts needed.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list