2

Author Topic: Axon II battery connector, hitec or futaba?  (Read 1869 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chelttownTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Axon II battery connector, hitec or futaba?
« on: December 12, 2009, 03:53:56 PM »
Hi, I have just ordered the Axon II, but am finding it difficult to find a battery and charger with a hitec conector.

I have managed to find lots with Futaba connectors, would these work/fit the switch that comes with the Axon. I am in the UK so need a site that is based here really.

The one I am talking about are here http://www.vapextech.co.uk/acatalog/copy_of_High_Power_Model_Control_Batteries.html

Im sorry if this has been talked about before, but I could not find anything about it.

Many thanks

Chelttown

Offline rollingrobot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Axon II battery connector, hitec or futaba?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2009, 04:16:23 PM »
http://www.societyofrobots.com/actuators_servos.shtml

The last paragraph of that web page shows you how to modify the futaba connector to a hitec connector.

I think you can remove the housing of futaba and put a housing of the hitec, I'm not sure though.
If you don't have any success with that you can cut off the entire futaba connector itself, leaving two pieces of wires and follow this tutorial on manually putting a hitec connector. If you going with the last option you can buy crimpers very cheap at http://servocity.com html/servo_connectors___pins.html and you can buy necessary pins/housing.

Offline chelttownTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Axon II battery connector, hitec or futaba?
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2009, 04:11:56 PM »
Thanks for the link.

Does anyone know where to buy a charger in the uk with a hitec connector?

Offline Webbot

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,154
  • Helpful? 110
Re: Axon II battery connector, hitec or futaba?
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2009, 09:20:08 PM »
I've bought them from vapextech before.
Just use the 'futaba' ones and clip/file off the 'flange thingy' on the side of the connector to make it a hitech
vapextech also sell chargers with futaba connectors
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline chelttownTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Axon II battery connector, hitec or futaba?
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2009, 02:56:18 AM »
I've bought them from vapextech before.
Just use the 'futaba' ones and clip/file off the 'flange thingy' on the side of the connector to make it a hitech
vapextech also sell chargers with futaba connectors

Thank you very much for your answer that is exactly what I wanted to know  ;D

Cheltttown

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,665
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: Axon II battery connector, hitec or futaba?
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2009, 06:25:18 AM »
You also need to file down two corners after you cut off the flange thingy. If you look at the female Hitec connector on the on/off switch, you'll notice its not exactly a perfect square.

Just use sandpaper, or an emery board (for filing nails), to get it to fit. Its a quick 5 minute job.

 


Get Your Ad Here