Author Topic: accurate sensor to measure distance 0cm - 100cm  (Read 1443 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mcwee67Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
accurate sensor to measure distance 0cm - 100cm
« on: December 16, 2009, 06:08:40 AM »
Hello,

I'm a student doing my final year project on making a robot which can navigate through a corridor.

I have been using infrared sensors to measure distance but I got reading from all over the place.

I have looked at ultrasonic sensor for measurement, but can anybody recommended anything other sensor, I heard laser is good but extremely expensive to build...?

Thanks  :)

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: accurate sensor to measure distance 0cm - 100cm
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2009, 07:23:22 AM »
Hi,

Sharp produces a range of IR sensors that's pretty good. Read on here http://www.acroname.com/robotics/info/articles/sharp/sharp.html
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline mcwee67Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: accurate sensor to measure distance 0cm - 100cm
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2009, 07:43:20 AM »
Hi,

Sharp produces a range of IR sensors that's pretty good. Read on here http://www.acroname.com/robotics/info/articles/sharp/sharp.html



Thanks...

I'm using one of the sharp sensor, but my problem is that it gives number of different reading...

I have run test of taking measurement of 100 at 15cm, 20cm, 25cm, 30cm etc... and the results have .0 of a change...

I've looked at ultrasonic... are they more accurate then infrared?

Thanks

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: accurate sensor to measure distance 0cm - 100cm
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2009, 04:07:01 PM »
Hi,

I'm using one of the sharp sensor, but my problem is that it gives number of different reading...

I have run test of taking measurement of 100 at 15cm, 20cm, 25cm, 30cm etc... and the results have .0 of a change...
Then you did something wrong - they're very reliable.
Did you place a cap over the supply lines, directly at the sensor?


I've looked at ultrasonic... are they more accurate then infrared?
On the contrary.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline mcwee67Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Helpful? 0
Re: accurate sensor to measure distance 0cm - 100cm
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2009, 04:24:53 PM »
Sorry what do you mean by "Did you place a cap over the supply lines, directly at the sensor"???

How would I go about getting accurate measure from a sharp sensor?

Thanks

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: accurate sensor to measure distance 0cm - 100cm
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2009, 04:27:19 PM »
Hi,

Sorry what do you mean by "Did you place a cap over the supply lines, directly at the sensor"???
Excactly what I asked (cap = capacitor), what puzzles you  about it?
I take it that you didn't, so try that.

What model number is the Sharp sensor you used?


How would I go about getting accurate measure from a sharp sensor?
Apart from decoupling the supply lines by the cap, I'd just measure its output.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list