Author Topic: digikey raising prices?  (Read 2811 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
digikey raising prices?
« on: December 22, 2009, 08:21:20 PM »
i just want to check if this is correct...

the programmer quotes in the $50 robot tutorial at $34 from digikey. has gone up to $58?!? i checked this price not long ago and it was still $34. dones anyone know why it would raise that much?

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?lang=en&site=US&WT.z_homepage_link=hp_go_button&KeyWords=ATAVRISP2-ND&x=27&y=17
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2009, 08:26:15 PM »
Thats weird, but Mouser still has em for $34 at least.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2009, 08:30:02 PM »
Yeah, i noticed that too. Instead i just bought the STK500 for $30.
Howdy

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2009, 08:34:14 PM »
mousers is $38.52

do you have a search # for that? i searched it and the prices were not anywhere near $30
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2009, 08:42:17 PM »
Ebay.
Howdy

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2009, 08:59:21 PM »
Those aren't legitimate AVR STK500s, those are just some random knock-offs.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2009, 09:00:56 PM »
Yeah, i know... If it works, ill use it.
Howdy

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2009, 08:41:36 PM »
That looks like something some random guy threw together. It uses his own custom software. It looks pretty good, but if you are someone who just wants something to work out of the box, get something like the USBtinyISP from Ladyada.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,653
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2009, 01:35:36 AM »
I seem to remember less than a year ago Digikey accidentally mis-priced this very same item. After some SoR forum members emailed them, they fixed the price.

I'm sure someone can find the thread if you search.

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #10 on: December 26, 2009, 01:46:48 PM »
i already e-mailed them. im waiting on a reply
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline T0110100101101101K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Helpful? 1
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2010, 10:52:33 PM »
Way 2 go cooldog!  You must have barked loud enough to knock down the price.  Digi-Key's price is showing $35.36.  It still doesn't seem to be the lowest right now. 
A robot could do my job...

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,653
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2010, 12:56:44 AM »
Digikey and Mouser are at war with each other. Digikey fell asleep, Mouser caught up, and Digikey is trying to fight back by price matching with Mouser.

The customer wins :D

Offline cooldogTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
  • Helpful? 4
  • be nice to nerds, one day they will be your boss
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2010, 07:45:21 AM »
Wow, it finally got knocked down! If thats the case I'm going to hold out on buying parts for a bit
robot will rule the world and i will be building them
-admin

favorite web sites
http://www.societyofrobots.com/
http://www.instructables.com/

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,653
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2010, 04:49:19 AM »
Found the old post by accident today:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=8724.0

Apparently it was increased to $58 both times.

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #15 on: January 26, 2010, 07:14:20 PM »
Is there really any advantage paying $35 for a true AVR programmer when you can get a emulated one

http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1300

for $20, with more features no less?

(I bought the $20 one and have no problems at all, but am I missing something?)

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,653
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #16 on: January 26, 2010, 08:33:57 PM »
With the exception of this Pololu programmer, to my knowledge, all the others fail to work with AVR Studio and make it more difficult/impossible to change fuses.

This Pololu one seems interesting . . .

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #17 on: January 26, 2010, 08:56:50 PM »
Well i have used it with my Axon 1 and AVR studio with no problems at all.

Time to update the $50; I mean $35 robot tutorial? :-p

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,653
  • Helpful? 169
    • Society of Robots
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #18 on: January 27, 2010, 12:37:29 AM »
Time to update the $50; I mean $35 robot tutorial? :-p
Ok, updated. It'll be about $60 with this particular programmer, but $10 more is worth it compared to PonyProg.

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #19 on: January 27, 2010, 07:07:03 AM »
????

I'm on limited internet now and can't check, but I thought someone said the digikey programmer was the one used in the tutorial. Is a ponyprog a cheapy $10 programmer?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #20 on: January 27, 2010, 09:47:56 AM »
????

I'm on limited internet now and can't check, but I thought someone said the digikey programmer was the one used in the tutorial. Is a ponyprog a cheapy $10 programmer?
Ponyprong is software used with el-cheapo serial and parallel port programmers like the $10 one from sparkfun.
The better programmers can upload straight from avrstudio.
Howdy

Offline madsci1016

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,450
  • Helpful? 43
Re: digikey raising prices?
« Reply #21 on: January 27, 2010, 01:41:21 PM »
Ah, sounds like a hacked bit banger for cheap converter chips. Yeah the pololu programmer works directly with avr studio fine, and I think is way easier to use for only $10 more. And it has a seperate uart so you could flash and then debug without evever changing a plug or closing a terminal program.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list