go_away

Author Topic: Spykee problems  (Read 3643 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline delpierisTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Spykee problems
« on: December 25, 2009, 01:39:42 PM »
I got my spykee two days before... i have charged it for 3 hours... i drive him, after 10 minutes was dead, he could NOT charge... i get another battery, when i put it on it it was ok, so i charged it...but nothing, the robot was dead... what to do??? i think it was the worst waste of money i could ever do...
please help,,,please..

Offline waltr

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,944
  • Helpful? 98
Re: Spykee problems
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2009, 03:23:43 PM »
Whats a skykee?
Do you have a link?

What batteries did you use?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Spykee problems
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2009, 05:05:50 PM »
http://www.spykeeworld.com/
I think they're a decent robot, but i wouldn't buy one.
I have better things to spend my money on.

Anyway, so you've tried two batteries and both don't work?
Have you tested the batteries to see their voltage after charge? It may be the charger is broken...
Howdy

Offline billhowl

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 376
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: Spykee problems
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2009, 01:09:53 AM »
Quote
9.3. Manually placing Spykee on the base
To do this, turn the robot on (the robot will charge only if the button under the chassis is “ON”).
• Place it manually on its recharging station (Spykee will be with its back to the base).
It will begin to recharge automatically.

The newly purchased product's battery pack is not charged. Charge before operating;

1 - Plug the female connector of the charger into the docking station's male plug;
2 - Plug the charger into an electrical outlet;
3 - (Re)charge for about 4 to 5 hours;
4 – When the (re)charging is over, take the robot out of the docking station.

http://www.spykeeworld.com/spykee/UK/information.htm

Have you turn on the robot when charge?

Quote
13. TECHNICAL DATA SHEET
. PC/ Mac Compatible
. 200 MHz ARM9
. 32Mb SDRAM
. Neither 4Mb NOR Flash
. WiFi client 802.11b/g
. USB host
. 8-bits uC to control the dual DC motor and control the charge
. 4 LEDs and 1LED flash
. Camera QVGA CMOS with 15 images per second in local mode (optimal conditions) / 4 to 15 images per
second in remote mode (optimal conditions)
. Infrared receiver
. Charge control for the 9.6V NiMH battery
. JTAG / Serial / port i2c port available
. Joypad compatible
. Electret microphone
. Loudspeaker 8 Ohm 2W
. Audio sampler microphone 16bits / 16 kHz
. Sampler speaker 16bits / 8 to 48 kHz
. Open source software

http://www.spykeeworld.com/spykee/documents/manualpc-en.pdf

Have you tested the batteries using volt meter to see their voltage after charge? it should be about 11.2V when full charge.

Offline delpierisTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Spykee problems
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2009, 05:11:23 AM »
Thank you for your response..
Okay i have take the battery from tha robot and charge it from other charging station i have... I put it into the robot again,,,so it was ok... i connect it with my computer... when i pressed the button so the robot go to his charging station alone...when it go there, it can not recognise that it go to the station and it does not stop moving to go to his station... any suggestions??

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Spykee problems
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2009, 05:22:45 AM »
Have you tried putting it manually into the charging station and connecting it up to charge?
Howdy

Offline delpierisTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Spykee problems
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2009, 08:46:05 AM »
it says: Battery Full, i dont really know what happen here.. it must say Charging..
I will inform tomorrow to see what happen..

Offline delpierisTopic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Spykee problems
« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2009, 10:49:30 AM »
it would not charge... it can not recognise that it is on its charging station...
i have sent an email to SpykeeWorld... but i do not really think that they will answer me.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Spykee problems
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2009, 05:06:32 PM »
Does it have any kind of warranty? If so, see if you can take it back and say its faulty.
Howdy

Offline Soeren

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,672
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Spykee problems
« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2009, 07:04:07 AM »
Hi,

Anything with a warranty are off limits for your pinkies - send it back and get a repair/replacement.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline michaelf33713

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Spykee problems
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2013, 10:15:56 AM »
I was having similar issues and I just replaced the battery and it fixed the problem. I found one online at a battery website. It is 2500mAh which offers much longer battery life than the original 1800mAh battery that comes installed in the spykee and it is only about $30. here is a link to the battery that I am referring to:

http://www.mpfproducts.com/8lmh-48aa1800-h-ma-battery-for-meccano-erector-870850-spykee-spy-robot/

I purchased mine a couple of months ago and my spykee is still going strong. They even sent me step by step repair instructions which were very easy to follow. I hope this helps!

 


Get Your Ad Here