Author Topic: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!  (Read 2666 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« on: December 29, 2009, 11:42:24 PM »
Ok, so I have to make a robot that can play soccer for a school competition. It has to be remote controlled and the maximum voltage is 12V. I have made a plan, but I have a lot of questions. PLEASE HELP!!

Just an FYI, I live in Mumbai, India but I have lived in the U.S. I will be using parts from these two online sites:
http://thinklabs.in/shop/index.php?cPath=64
http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=60

1) What does it mean by maximum voltage is 12V? I saw some motors on the sites above were 12V motors, so what does that mean? Please explain because I don't know if I have a 12V battery, and I attach two 12V motors then will there be enough power?

2) http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7&products_id=25
If you look at the above transmitter/receiver, does it require any programming, or can I directly plug in motors and battery and start using it? Also, since there are 4 buttons, can I have one for left motor, one for right motor? If so, if I press both buttons, will it go forward by turning both motors at the same time? It says there are 2amp dual motor drivers. What does that mean?

3) Overall, is there any programming required is this entire project? I am not sure I will not have enough time to program as the competition is next month.

4) I was thinking of adding one more motor as a ball hitter to hit the ball into the goal. You are not allowed to cross the D-line which is a line in front of the goal. You have to hit it in from outside. Is this a good idea or not considering the maximum voltage is 12V?

These are the current questions, but I might add more if needed. Please help. THANKS!

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2009, 06:02:12 PM »
1. You can put 14V or whatever into it, but it won't be any different than 12V and will most likely damage the motors.
     Also, you can run two 12V motors off one 12V battery, but they'll last less than half the time of one.
2. It looks like an R/C unit, so no programming required. As far as the whole "press both and it goes" thing, I have no idea. That's something you'll have to look up before you buy it.
    It means the motor driver (the thing you plug the motors into) can deliver up to 2 amperes of current.
3. Not if you do some clever circuitry, although I don't get your whole programmo-phobia. And you can learn more than enough C to make it work in less than a week.
4. You're going to want a solenoid, as seen http://www.societyofrobots.com/actuators_solenoids.shtml.

Also, in the future please lay off the "PLZ" and caps lock in general.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2009, 11:48:47 PM »
hey thanks for your help  :D

I was browsing through one of the websites and saw this product:
http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7&products_id=203

It's the perfect thing for my robot, but I was wondering whether you could kindly explain what it means by connecting "motor terminals" in detail.

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2009, 09:19:32 AM »
A terminal is what connects the part to the circuit, so the motor terminals are where you connect the motors.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2009, 10:34:00 PM »
Cool. So can I just connect the terminals with any wires? Also, I was wondering whether you get that plastic thing which can be plugged in and makes it so much easier to connect it to the receiver?

http://www.tamjets.com/original/images/Y-harness%20001.jpg

That is a picture of a y harness, but I just want a wire with the plastic black things like in the picture that makes it easier to plug in. One side whould be with the plastic and the other open to connect to motor. Do you get those?
« Last Edit: January 01, 2010, 06:48:04 AM by Cycloned »

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2009, 11:01:25 PM »
Those are wire connectors... I think the link is broken?
And yes, any wire will do to connect the motor to the board, just not the thinnest...
Howdy

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2010, 06:46:39 AM »
cool. and someone said i will have to solder the wires. is that necessary or can i find another way to attach them on?

p.s. i fixed the link

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2010, 06:51:26 AM »
well, you could twist them through if the motor terminals have holes in them...
Why do you not want to solder them?
Howdy

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2010, 08:51:04 AM »
Programming you can probably get away without in your case, but if your robot will be moving around a lot (and it sounds like it will) soldering will be the best thing to hold the wires together.
The last thing you want to for something to become disconnected during the soccer match.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2010, 09:48:24 PM »
yea that would be a disaster....

I'm just not sure if I'll will be able to get the stuff to solder the wires and thats why I don't want to.

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #10 on: January 01, 2010, 09:57:35 PM »
where do you live?
Howdy

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2010, 01:58:58 AM »
Mumbai India

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2010, 02:12:00 AM »
So is there nowhere near you where you could get a soldering iron?
Howdy

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #13 on: January 02, 2010, 10:18:49 AM »
Motors are big enough that even the cheapest of soldering irons will work, and you only need it for less than 5 minutes to solder 4 wires.
As far as materials needed to solder, you only need an iron and solder. In the short time you'll be working you won't need any other stuff.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline CyclonedTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Helpful? 0
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2010, 10:51:07 PM »
yes I'll see what I can do.

But thanks you all for your patience and help with me.

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #15 on: January 03, 2010, 06:51:36 PM »
Just remember to help out other people when you know the answer. Key word "know", of course.
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline Raeven

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Helpful? 0
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #16 on: January 09, 2010, 06:48:22 AM »
Is the 12v limit because your school considers that voltages above that are unsafe? Or is it simply to add a max strength limit (more voltage more stuff you can do and more powerful stuff you can run)?

Offline z.s.tar.gz

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
  • Helpful? 5
  • Linux Guru
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #17 on: January 09, 2010, 04:23:10 PM »
Usually they do this because A) Lots of batteries come in 12V and B) If you didn't limit it, people would get into some dangerous territory. (I know I would)
Save yourself the typing. Just call me Zach.

Offline Hertz32

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 109
  • Helpful? 0
Re: A total beginner making a robot...PLZ HELP!
« Reply #18 on: January 29, 2010, 04:47:51 PM »

 


Get Your Ad Here