Society of Robots - Robot Forum

Software => Software => Topic started by: chelmi on October 28, 2009, 09:53:04 PM

Title: Webbot Lib and Linux
Post by: chelmi on October 28, 2009, 09:53:04 PM
Hi guys,

I finally took some time to try out the WebbotLib. I cannot manage to compile my application though :(

I added the install directory to the include paths (-I) but gcc keeps complaining about a header file

Code: [Select]
/home/michel/Workspace/WebbotLib/1.11/sys/../device.h:22:29: error: dev/ATMega168.h: No such file or directory

The file is where it is supposed to be of course...

Did anyone actually manage to used the lib in linux? (or in windows but in command line, I'm sure we will hit the same problem).

Chelmi.
Title: Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
Post by: Webbot on October 31, 2009, 11:14:20 AM
Haven't got Unix so can only be of limited help but...

What does your complete command line look like?
Title: Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
Post by: chelmi on October 31, 2009, 01:51:04 PM
I just solved the issue:, it was obvious
File names are case sensitive in linux. In device.h the file included is ATMega168.h but the actual file is named ATmega168.h

I fixed the typo, as well as another one in _uart_common.h

Do you want me to send you a patch? I can also check in my change on CVS if you want.

I now have link issues (undefined reference to configure_ports), but I'm think I know why.

Chelmi.
Title: Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
Post by: Webbot on October 31, 2009, 02:06:58 PM
Hi Chelmi,
I can also check in my change on CVS if you want.
Chelmi.

CVS - Go for it - be the first person besides me to contribute directly into the source code !! Since its the first time - then shout/PMme when you are done so I can make sure I can pickup your change.

Thanks for your help!

Hopefully I'll learn from your changes so I can avoid similar issues, or fix for other devices, - but, without Unix, cant promise - so I welcome your input.

Webbot

Title: Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
Post by: Webbot on December 13, 2009, 12:54:40 PM
I know I'm resurrecting an old topic but...

The whole lib has now had a Unix revamp. So it should also now be re-buildable from the source code as well as the previous revamp that allowed you to 'use it' from Unix.


Title: Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
Post by: dunk on February 09, 2010, 10:27:35 PM
for anyone out there running without windows (and hence without AVR Studio)
there is a Makefile (to get you past the AVR Studio setup phase in the WebbotLib documentation) in the WebbotLib Mac thread here: http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=9527.0 (http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=9527.0)

dunk.
Title: Re: Webbot Lib and Linux
Post by: dunk on March 23, 2010, 03:15:09 PM
there's now a wee doc on Compiling with WebbotLib without using AVR Studio.

http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/381 (http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/381)


dunk.