Society of Robots - Robot Forum

Software => Software => Topic started by: Cycloned on December 30, 2009, 10:01:02 AM

Title: Is programming required?
Post by: Cycloned on December 30, 2009, 10:01:02 AM
I was thinking about using these receivers/transmitters:
http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7&products_id=25 (http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7&products_id=25)
http://thinklabs.in/shop/product_info.php?cPath=54&products_id=91 (http://thinklabs.in/shop/product_info.php?cPath=54&products_id=91)

I was wondering whether I would have to program these things to be able to plug in the motors, etc. or can i plug in the motors and battery directly?

Also, how do I connect the motors and battery to the receiver so it becomes remote controlled?

Lastly, what are motor drives, and do they limit the number of motors that can be connected?
Title: Re: Is programming required?
Post by: waltr on December 30, 2009, 12:02:56 PM
It looks be be complete BUT since there is not a data sheet on the units I could only guess on how to use them.

Hit the "ask a question" and ask for a data sheet.
Title: Re: Is programming required?
Post by: rgcustodio on December 30, 2009, 04:02:29 PM
You should be able to plug in motors and a battery directly to the receiver. A data sheet or schematic will always be helpful.
Both sets come with a transmitter and receiver and by the photos I think the transmitter is the one with the push buttons. You control the receiver via the transmitter using the push buttons. IMHO no software programming needed.

A motor driver is required if you are connecting motors to a robot or to I/O pins of an MCU. The MCUs I/O pins can only deliver a mere milliamps while a motor will require maybe several amps. Trying the drive a motor directly though your MCUs I/O pins won't turn the motor or possibly fry your MCU. Input of a motor driver is a signal from the MCU, this input drives internal logic in the motor driver which drives the motor.

Yes they limit the number of motor connected because its what's the circuit was designed for. You will see motor drivers with 2channels or more. These channels are what the motor driver can control separately. Connecting 4 motors to a two channel motor driver is a no-no. You risk overloading the motor driver.

Please do a search of the website there are numerous topics discussing this in the member tutorials.
Title: Re: Is programming required?
Post by: SmAsH on December 30, 2009, 05:16:52 PM
Yes, that receiver can take two motors although, I'm not sure about the configuration...
Better get the datasheet for this one.
Title: Re: Is programming required?
Post by: Cycloned on December 31, 2009, 01:10:03 AM
actually i might go for this one:

http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7&products_id=203 (http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7&products_id=203)

It says all you have to do is connect motor terminals which I don't understand. After that would there be programming required?

Also, let's say I was going to use this motor with the above:
http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2&products_id=251 (http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2&products_id=251)

How do I connect the motor to the receiver? I don't see any wires...
Title: Re: Is programming required?
Post by: waltr on December 31, 2009, 08:07:14 AM
Wires need to be soldered to the motors. The wires then connect to the red terminal blocks on the receiver.
Title: Re: Is programming required?
Post by: Cycloned on December 31, 2009, 10:35:45 PM
soldered?? can i just not find a way to stick it on without using heat?
Title: Re: Is programming required?
Post by: z.s.tar.gz on January 01, 2010, 09:00:25 AM
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=9940.msg76135#msg76135 (http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=9940.msg76135#msg76135)
Seriously don't cut corners.