go away spammer

Author Topic: Newbie to robots  (Read 3533 times)

Offline ziomatrixacsTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Newbie to robots
« on: November 03, 2008, 12:35:30 PM »
Hey guys, I am new to robots and I have been trying to get into it.

I fly model airplanes ( from 30" electrics to 30% gassers ) so I have servos of all sizes, 3.6 gram blue arrow's up to Futaba S3303's, 8 channel receivers , brushless motors with esc's and plenty of nuts and bolts. I also have a few helicopters from years back.. I used to build with legos for about 16 years too. (Mostly robots when RCX came out, and a few before then with parts I found from RC cars)

Right now I have a Netburner Mod 5213. I think its kinda old, but it is a micro computer though.  Id like to get back into robots, but I use an older Macintosh so I cant really run the C++ compiler for the MOD5213 and need a USB  to serial cable to program it. Im not too good with circuitry, but Im good with cobbling something up to get it to do what I want it to. (Example, I made a robot with Two motors that had ESC's that only ran forward. I ran a servo connected to a polarity switch to reverse the + and - so I could get the motors to run backwards. Inefficient but it worked!)

Any way.. Im looking to build a small radio controlled frame. Instead of having a programed Microcomputer, I could use an aircraft radio to run a frame. It would be much easier on my part, since I enjoy building the robot more than programing.  Are there any metal geared transmissions for a 250 class motor? Similar to this tamiya (sp) drive:

http://static.flickr.com/90/239971526_4cb81f79af.jpg

I build a robot with those treads and same tranny but it strips out like crazy. I have lego gears but id like to avoid using those.. I am having a hard time finding premade metal gear (micro?) transmissions.. If I could get some heavier nylon gears, that would be great too.

Offline ArcMan

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma