Author Topic: Robot Controller  (Read 1754 times)

Offline jairojosyTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Robot Controller
« on: February 18, 2022, 04:32:35 AM »
Hi, I am a 15-year old robot enthusiast from India. I am currently building a demi humanoid robot and I was in search of a microcontroller. I tried using Raspberry Pi but it was not enough for me. My next option was to use Nvidia Jetson Nano, but it was really expensive. It was around 335(approx.) in Amazon. For Indians like us, 300 dollars is highly expensive. Since I am a student and not having a job I am living under my parents and have no source of income. My parents cannot afford to buy this Jetson Nano. Recently, I found my old PC lying around. I was thinking if I could use that as the controller for my robot. If yes, could you please explain how can I do it?

Offline mklrobo

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
  • From Dream to Design at the speed of Imagination!
Re: Robot Controller
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2022, 12:05:46 PM »
 ;D  Hello!   ;D

welcome to the robot forum!  ;D

To address your question of using a PC for a robot, I would offer my projects
with doing the same thing. There was a company called Prairie Digital, that makes
PC boards that fit into the slots for a PC, giving an interface to the real world,
controlled through your program.
   i used Turbo C++; but you can use python, perl, or visual basic. I would recommend using
the programming language that the board manufacturer recommends. They usually give
code examples of how to use their board, online.

You can also go to digikey, jameco, and the robot shop to get boards that attach to
the serial/USB port to control relays. You can get speed controllers and any range of
motor controllers.

This is not free, so use whatever metric you have to decide where you want to go with the
robot.

The robot investment should be a multitasker, so you can get the most out of the robot -
entertainment, enlightenment, and enjoyment.