go_away

Author Topic: I dont understand the difference between outputs and inputs?  (Read 2684 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MaltiKTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
  • Helpful? 2
I dont understand the difference between outputs and inputs?
« on: October 27, 2008, 04:30:21 PM »
The only difference I see is they require a different code, other than that are they not completely interchangeable?

also what are the advantages/disadvantages of each?
« Last Edit: October 27, 2008, 04:32:51 PM by MaltiK »
Warranty

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
    • Nerdcore - Programming, Electronics, Mechanics
Re: I dont understand the difference between outputs and inputs?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2008, 04:36:13 PM »
Inputs and outputs of what?

Can you elaborate?

Offline izaktj

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 216
  • Helpful? 0
Re: I dont understand the difference between outputs and inputs?
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2008, 05:15:09 PM »
Inputs are usually for sensors, for something that goes in....while outputs are for something that goes out, like servos or motors.
An analogy would be your keyboard as an input and your screen as the output.

paulstreats

  • Guest
Re: I dont understand the difference between outputs and inputs?
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2008, 05:20:59 PM »
io ports or input/output ports are usually the same thing. They can normally be used for input OR output, it up to you to decide what they are configured for and when

Offline MaltiKTopic starter

  • Robot Overlord
  • ****
  • Posts: 300
  • Helpful? 2
Re: I dont understand the difference between outputs and inputs?
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2008, 05:27:09 PM »
ok well in my setup:

input:
record
playback

output:
motor

are they interchangeable?
Warranty

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
Re: I dont understand the difference between outputs and inputs?
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2008, 05:30:23 PM »
If you are asking if the ports on the IC are interchangeable, yes to some degree. The ports on the IC have different features that will make them useful for certain applications (for example, a port with an ADC converter will be better for sensors than driving motors)

Offline pomprocker

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,431
  • Helpful? 16
  • Sorry miss, I was giving myself an oil-job.
    • Nerdcore - Programming, Electronics, Mechanics
Re: I dont understand the difference between outputs and inputs?
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2008, 06:05:12 PM »
Oh yes, ports on a MCU can be toggled between input and output.

I thought you meant something like push play on your motor and the play button spins your tape :P

 


Get Your Ad Here