Author Topic: need help putting together a microcontroller  (Read 1520 times)

Offline morgmorgTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
need help putting together a microcontroller
« on: April 15, 2012, 11:32:45 PM »
i am a beginner to microcontrollers and robots. I looked at the tutorial for the 50 dollar robot but a few of the steps were a little hard could someone either post a tutorial video or tell me where to find one for building the microcontroller. 

Offline jkerns

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 12
Re: need help putting together a microcontroller
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2012, 06:44:26 AM »
Which parts, specifically, are you having trouble with?

I would suggest reading the data sheet for the micro controller chip - that will give you the details about what each pin does and might answer a lot of your questions.
I get paid to play with robots - can't beat that with a stick.

http://www.ltu.edu/engineering/mechanical/bachelor-science-robotics-engineering.asp

Offline mstacho

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 10
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2012, 07:23:18 AM »
If you're using any of the ATMega chips, these guys have great simple board schematics to play with: http://avrprogrammers.com/atmega644bd.php (that one is for the 644, but there are other board schematics for the other ATMegas)
Current project: tactile sensing systems for multifingered robot hands

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2012, 04:45:44 PM »
improbably going to buy a majority of the components from radio shack and i was wondering what type of ic i should get

Offline mstacho

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 10
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2012, 08:22:00 AM »
You mean which microcontroller to get?  That is...a deeply personal choice :-P  What you'll end up finding is that PICs, Atmel chips, Arduinos (based on Atmel...) etc all do just about the same thing, but they are programmed slightly differently and have different user communities.