Author Topic: best program to learn C++?  (Read 19365 times)

Offline BANETopic starter

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • E=roboticsC^2
best program to learn C++?
« on: June 09, 2008, 06:18:02 PM »
Hello, I've got alot of experience programming robots using BASIC but I want to learn C++.  Not just for robots, but to make a simple program.  Does anyone have any suggestions what compiling program to get for noobs? :P

Bane

Offline Yakri

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Re: best program to learn C++?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2008, 09:50:31 PM »
I use Bloodshed Dev-C++ and it works great for me, although I am still a total noobie at it. That should work fine for windows, but if your running a *nix operating system or a mac OS then i think you will need a different one.

Offline Webbot

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 111
    • Webbot stuff
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2008, 01:07:51 PM »
The standard AVR tools contain a C++ compiler as well as the C compiler. See my posting in the member forums for a C++ library to help you out. But if you need to learn C++ from scratch then consult Google, books etc etc.
Webbot Home: http://webbot.org.uk/
WebbotLib online docs: http://webbot.org.uk/WebbotLibDocs
If your in the neighbourhood: http://www.hovinghamspa.co.uk

Offline krich

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2008, 10:51:22 AM »
Probably one of the best ways to learn C++ is on a Linux/Unix system at the command prompt.  If you have a Linux/Unix system handy, you can get quite far with very little effort.  Unless you're familiar with Linux/Unix, building a system just to learn C++ is probably not the best use of your time.