Author Topic: Complexity of robot vision  (Read 5582 times)

Offline SeekingVisionTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Complexity of robot vision
« on: January 05, 2015, 07:58:48 AM »
I've been working on a simple, ha ha, vision program so that my robot can navigate my house and recognize where it currently is. Even just creating a useful edge of items in image discovery program is much more difficult than I thought it would be.  I am now starting to incorporate blob detection into the edge identifier to complete lines that have breaks in them.  Does anyone have some advice as to how a reliable edge detection algorithm could be created?   
Robots are our children and will inherit the Earth.

Offline Ibaeni

• Helpful? 4
Re: Complexity of robot vision
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 04:31:46 PM »
I've had some experience with this because of one of my school friends. He has used the xbox kinect for obstacle detection and also cameras with the raspberry pi. We're working on a quadcopter (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMpXZnccf2D5zZKs32FRd2g) that will eventually implement these. Although I don't have much knowledge, I have some sources that may be useful to you.

These are two links to a project that uses the Kinect to build 3D maps
http://mobilerobotics.cs.washington.edu/projects/postscripts/Huang-ISRR-2011.pdf
http://www.cs.washington.edu/robotics/projects/rgbd-3d-mapping/

The next two may also be useful
http://ccwu.me/vsfm/

http://www.robots.ox.ac.uk/~gk/PTAM/

Offline mklrobo

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
  • From Dream to Design at the speed of Imagination!
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2015, 04:07:40 PM »
 :) Hello!
I viewed on of the videos on the robot movies sections, and one robot recognized
signs. Maybe you could use signs throughout the house to help the robot know
where it is at. Good Luck!   ;D ;D ;D

Offline Spud

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2015, 03:34:25 PM »