Author Topic: the bigger the battery the better??  (Read 3635 times)

Offline Carter05Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
the bigger the battery the better??
« on: August 20, 2008, 10:41:52 AM »
Is a 10000mAH battery better to buy than a 3800mAH battery? I'm not too concerned on cost difference, just usuability. I'm fairly new to robotics and I want a battery to last me many projects and many hours. I don't know if it would be better to buy say, two 3600mAH batteries or just one 10000mAH battery.

I plan on buying the Axon, would a 6v battery be a good choice?

Thanks!

10000mAH
http://www.all-battery.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=2106

3800mAh
http://www.all-battery.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=2198
« Last Edit: August 20, 2008, 10:45:06 AM by Carter05 »

Offline ArcMan

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • Mmmm... Plasma
Re: the bigger the battery the better??
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2008, 11:21:30 AM »
Bigger doesn't necessarily mean better, just bigger.  More capacity means higher cost, larger size and more weight.  So what you need to do is estimate your robot's load and how long you want it to run before recharging.  For example, if your average load is 1A and you want it to run for 2 hours, then you will need a 2000 mAH battery.  If your load is 2A and you want it to run for 5 hours, then you could use that 10,000 mAH pack.

Offline MarkBrown

• Helpful? 0
    • Mark's Projects
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2008, 12:37:38 PM »
If you  can handle 7.4 volts, I would recommend looking into Lithium Polymer, LiPo, batteries.  They range is size and wieght depending on the amperage you need but they are generally much lighter than a Nihm battery of the same rating would be.  Also, they are generally able to handle larger current draws.  I am currently using one to power my $50 robot MCU while I have another 4.8v pack powering the servos.  once I figure out what best way to regulate this power for servos and such I will be using one for my servos too.