Author Topic: Noob Question about voltage requirements  (Read 4781 times)

Offline SylvestreTopic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 13
Noob Question about voltage requirements
« on: July 31, 2011, 11:27:11 PM »
Hey guys,

This may sound like a real novice question.  If the axon II's maximum voltage is ten volts how would you power something that requires more voltage such as a 24 volt motor or 5 LEDS that require 3.3 volts each?  Sorry to waster your guys' time, but I never learned this and I'm new to robotics. If someone could help me that'd be great.

Thanks

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 13
Re: Noob Question about voltage requirements
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2011, 11:29:33 PM »
Also what would I have to do to run two 24 volt batteries with the axon II

Offline DangerousElectrician

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2011, 10:07:28 AM »
Put another voltage regulator in front of the axon to regulate the voltage from 24V to 10V, then feed the 10V into the axon. If you are very skilled with a soldering iron, you could replace the voltage regulators on the axon with ones that can handle higher input voltages.

To control a 24 volt motor you'll need relays or transistors (read this http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/trancirc.htm). If you lack the electrical knowledge to build a motor driver, consider buying a motor driver (here's one http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9668).

Controlling the LEDs will require a transistor or relay. The LEDs can be powered off the 24V directly but will require a current limiting resistor (read this http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/components/led.htm)

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 13
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2011, 10:51:59 AM »