go away spammer

Author Topic: Simple microprocessors?  (Read 1906 times)

Offline Silverace42Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Simple microprocessors?
« on: June 13, 2014, 02:51:03 PM »
Hello, i am very new to the subject of robotics and know little of the topic.  I am working on a simple system that will sense for pressure applied to a specific point via a flex-sensor, and will then initiate a servo motor if the force detected exceeds a certain amount. I pretty much know which sensor and motor i will use, but i am unsure of what to use to program the system. From what i gather a microprocessor is suitable, if so what brands or types do you recommend? It should be as small and as light as possible.

Offline jkerns

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 12
Re: Simple microprocessors?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2014, 11:10:53 AM »
"As small and light as possible" would suggest nothing more than a single surface mound micro-controller chip such as an AVR chip (perhaps some power regulation). But that would be the least easy to work with. I have my students use a dual in line package AVR micro-controller so it can be used with standard perforated circuit board. You need to get into the details of the hardware to make things like controlling a servo motor to work.

You can get small arduinos that are easy to work with and have everything pre-built (example:http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardMicro )and do quite well with simple tasks that you suggest (the advantage is the extensive software library for things like running RC servos)

PIC micro-controller boards are popular as well.

The AXON work well but is larger.

I get paid to play with robots - can't beat that with a stick.

http://www.ltu.edu/engineering/mechanical/bachelor-science-robotics-engineering.asp

Offline ootbrobo

• Helpful? 1
Re: Simple microprocessors?
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2014, 11:38:56 PM »