Author Topic: Micro controllers and heat actuated design (current control) - Nylon muscles  (Read 2501 times)

Offline jasonheadTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
I am building a robotic hand / arm system with the goal of using the Nylon fishing line muscles.
Like these: http://bit.ly/1ENTS0S

My area of expertise is in software (I'm a developer), but with much less knowledge in the electronic hardware area.

Could I get some suggestions for building a system for controlling current for the heating wires?
I am thinking of an Arduino / Raspberry Pi paring - the Arduino for the analog current / movement sensor controls, and the Pi for processing sensor feedback and managing the dexterous movement complexities.

What sort of circuits would I need to build to control current flow?
I have 28 GA Nicrome 60 resistance wire for the heating "elements".

I'm thinking I will use a temperature sensor to dynamically cap the amount of current flowing to a muscle wire.

Suggestions?
Thanks
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 02:41:29 PM by jasonhead »

Offline mklrobo

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
  • From Dream to Design at the speed of Imagination!
 :)  Hello!
I have played with Nitinol (muscle wires) to use for a robotic project. I could not get the
displacement of the wires that was advertised. (lilft per amp)
The heat of the wire was so small, I could not detect it, with my fingers, and I assume
that putting any temperature sensor on it may prove obtuse, because  the wire needs
room to work.
I was going to use phase control for the current control part, and a current measuring
circuit kit (Jameco sells kits) for the current.
PWM may be a more efficent way to control the current and thus, displacement.
Electronic kits are avaliable that can be plug and play, and probably provide info to
your software, that may be avaliable.
Whatever method you use, you undoubtly will have to make a current vs. displacement chart that