Author Topic: $50 dollar robot modification question - LED light mini-show.  (Read 4880 times)

Offline Andrew_WaltfeldTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
$50 dollar robot modification question - LED light mini-show.
« on: November 22, 2009, 02:23:34 PM »
           Well for my senior seminar project in college, i decided to do something in robotics and a friend from the robotics club introduced me to society of robots, so i ended up doing the $50 dollar robot. It cost me around $120 because this is my first time soldering etc (completely new to this). So I had bought double the parts in case i messed up and got continuous rotation servo's from servo website recommended so i wouldn't have to  modify the servos.

I'm almost done soldering the basic $50 robot board, I got the AVR programmer mkII that was recommended  (only came with 6 pin) so i had to redo some of the wiring on the board, the board is a slightly bigger board than what is on there, but not too worried about space issues.

However, my question is this -

sortof as a mini-self-design project of mine, i wanted to add around 4x4 rows of LED lights to create a little light show while it's running around. however,

my question is this - voltage and circuit board wise, what exactly do i need to modify?

should i put this on a completely separate circuit  than from what runs the motors/sensors etc?

but if i do that, how should i get it so that the programmer sends the correct signals?

edit -
using a 6v battery pack, though i did add the 5 volt regulator in case i needed to change over to a higher voltage if needed.

« Last Edit: November 22, 2009, 02:27:14 PM by Andrew_Waltfeld »

Offline SmAsH

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: $50 dollar robot modification question - LED light mini-show.
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2009, 02:30:56 PM »
You don't really need to make any hardware changes. just hook the led's with resistors up to the digital pins!