Author Topic: need help with simple robotic mechanism  (Read 2161 times)

Offline brunoscienceTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
need help with simple robotic mechanism
« on: May 13, 2010, 09:14:31 PM »
This is a Halloween project. I want to make two life size human legs on a table  to move by remote control. I am an experienced builder, but I have no experience in robotics. Can someone please explain to me what exactly I need to make it work ? 

See picture for details. In the drawing the gray is the table, the red parts are the legs. (I want it to go from 1 to 4).

I want the legs to be fixed on the blue line and I only want the knee of one leg to fold by a push of a button on a remote.

(What I know is, that I need a robotic part at the knee, that will connect the upper and lower half of the leg, and at the push of a button make it bent. And than straight again.)

I would appreciate any help or ideas.

Thank you,
Bruno

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: need help with simple robotic mechanism
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2010, 07:37:28 AM »
If the heel is always on the table it could ride in a slot and is pulled/pushed bu a number of methods. One is a cable loop that is moved by a gear motor. This would be much simpler than trying to build a knee joint.

Offline brunoscienceTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2010, 12:39:21 PM »
thank you for the idea walt.
I am trying to make it as realistic as possible, because the legs will be on display at a halloween exhibit.

I want all the mechanism to be where the hips are (the blue line) or where the knee is.

I saw a video of a lego crane on youtube and I got an idea to apply a rotation at the hip (blue line = axis or rotation).

What do I need to make it move in two directions (up and down) at the hips and how to make it remote controlled ?