Author Topic: 50$ Robot 9v battery  (Read 3094 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline E.Man.LavaTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
  • Helpful? 0
50$ Robot 9v battery
« on: January 20, 2008, 04:12:48 PM »
in the 50$ robot tutorial, it talks about the use of a 9v battery, but it doesnt explain (at least not in a way that a major newb like me could follow and still get a good nights sleep, LOL) what its for or where to solder it in.  Where do i solder it and what does it do?

Offline Steve Joblin

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 405
  • Helpful? 2
    • Roebotz
Re: 50$ Robot 9v battery
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2008, 04:19:05 PM »
you don't solder wires to a battery... you use a  9 v battery snap... they look like this: http://www.swe.org/iac/images/battery_lg.jpg

As to what a battery is... it supplies power.

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 50$ Robot 9v battery
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2008, 04:29:13 PM »
let me explain it to th best i can.

you have 2 options.

1- everything powred by a 4.8 - 6v battery
2- electronics powered by 9v battery and servos by 4.8 - 6v battery

in option 1 you do it normally.

in option 2 you do everything normally, but do not solder wires to the servo power bus. and later attach a 4.8 - 6v battery to the servo power bus

hope that helps. let me know if you need a better explination on something
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline E.Man.LavaTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot 9v battery
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2008, 04:34:58 PM »
can you explain option 2 again?
 :-[

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 50$ Robot 9v battery
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2008, 05:18:26 PM »
i found this pic

Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline E.Man.LavaTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot 9v battery
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2008, 05:26:02 PM »
what connection am i not supposed to make?

Offline ed1380

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: 50$ Robot 9v battery
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2008, 05:33:26 PM »
where teh green x is. do not connect those 2 pins.

then connect the 4.8-6v battery to where it says AA
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline garriwilson

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 345
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot 9v battery
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2008, 04:22:35 PM »
Hey, I'll try to help. OK. Remove the connection OR don't make the connection that has the green X over it. The connection you have to remove is also glowy green. AA power is the red wire, AA ground is the black wire. The power bus on the outside is the ground (black wire is soldered there, anywhere on the bus doesn't matter which pin) and the power bus closer to the microcontroller is power (solder the red wire there).

Hope that helps.

-Garri

Offline JessXe

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: 50$ Robot 9v battery
« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2008, 11:02:31 AM »
I have a question on this also, I connect the + end of the large black capacitor to the + from the 9V battery right?  I want to be sure because, that is what the schematic says but the image makes it look like that connection wouldn't be made.

thank you.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,702
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: 50$ Robot 9v battery
« Reply #9 on: June 16, 2008, 12:16:32 PM »
Quote
I have a question on this also, I connect the + end of the large black capacitor to the + from the 9V battery right?  I want to be sure because, that is what the schematic says but the image makes it look like that connection wouldn't be made.
Yeap. You can also put a big cap on both if you want.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list