Author Topic: adjustable power supply circuit help  (Read 7444 times)

Offline aruna1Topic starter

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • I'm an Ordinary guy
adjustable power supply circuit help
« on: October 30, 2010, 09:03:02 PM »
Hi
I want to build a adjustable power supply system that can adjust output voltage using a pwm channel of a micro-controller.

output requirement is 0-15v and about maximum 3A.
and should be a linear regulator (as I'm still learning switching regulators and have no good idea about them)

basic idea is adjust the output by varying pulse width and feedback output voltage to the same micro-controller to keep output constant.

Any idea how to achieve this? any regulator IC I can use for this?

thank you
I'm Me

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: adjustable power supply circuit help
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2010, 01:32:00 AM »
There are many ICs that are designed to regulator a switching power supply. LT (linear Tech) and AD (Analog Devices) both makes a number of them. Check their web sites for data sheets and app notes. The most difficult part of the switching power supply design is the transformer.

There are also adjustable linear regulators. The LM317 is the most common but can only supply 1A. However, there is a higher current version or a pass transistor can be added to the LM317 to supply higher current. Google the data sheet for details.

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 4
  • I'm an Ordinary guy
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2010, 05:24:18 AM »
There are many ICs that are designed to regulator a switching power supply. LT (linear Tech) and AD (Analog Devices) both makes a number of them. Check their web sites for data sheets and app notes. The most difficult part of the switching power supply design is the transformer.