Author Topic: Microsoft Robotics Developer Studio 4 / On Windows 8 / WTF MANG  (Read 5694 times)

Offline GrimBotTopic starter

• Helpful? 4
Hello, I've been trying to mess with MRDS on Win. 8 and am having minimal luck. I am new to this so keep that in mind.

I've followed this tutorial and ran into the problem mentioned in the video.  I have recreated the example as an attachment. Not sure how to fix it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U5mzODNQSQc

Problem:
 "Duplicate name specified for entity or one of its children. Not adding to simulation:ReferencePlatform2011 "

Other tips:
I think that if you copy and past stuff they are not new instances and those instances are all connected. I don't think that is a problem with this example though.  If you can fix it, upload the fixed sample please.

Also, there is that "RUN" log that starts when you run the simulation. I think it would be good to share these logs for trouble shooting but I am not sure how to export that log. Is there an error log generated somewhere?

• Helpful? 4
Re: Microsoft Robotics Developer Studio 4 / On Windows 8 / WTF MANG
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2015, 03:18:21 PM »
Additional Thoughts:

I'm thinking the simulation environment is flimsy? Perhaps using the "Compile as Service" option would add more sturdiness to playing with the little robot guy..  but after compiling it I have no idea on how to run the service. I think it tried to open Visual Studio (which I don't have a license for, still on the 30 day trial).

Speaking of that.. is there an alternative to visual studio that will work with MRDS?