Author Topic: AVR and PIC programming  (Read 1867 times)

Offline left behind in techTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
AVR and PIC programming
« on: February 26, 2011, 11:39:02 AM »
I am new to this stuff and I have been looking at the files for the ponyprog, I like what I see but when I go to the link for obtaining the programmer the link is broken and I still do not know how much one of these costs and where to get one. Also I am not sure if the soft ware will work with windows 7, I have a lot of software that comes up incompatible with my OS, I still have the option to partition my hard drive and install XP which I will probably do anyway, but the real problem right now is finding the programmer and everything that I will need to smart up on this stuff. I left all my basic electronics training 30 years in the past and I am now trying to catch up with all you youngsters. No way am I going to yet you have ALL the fun!!! 

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: AVR and PIC programming
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2011, 04:26:08 PM »
For PIC programming use MPLAB, a free download and buy a PICKit2 programmer/debugger directly from Microchip.
Any other third party programming hardware is not worth the hassle.

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2011, 12:32:17 AM »
And a lot of the third party PIC programmers have a higher price tag (up to double the amount IIRC), poor after sales service and some are quite finicky to get going.
PICKIT2 is made by Microchip, so are close to the source, has built-in ICD (In Circuit Debugger) and a (slow) 3 channel logic analyzer and can store a program for later off-PC programming.

Although I haven't any personal experience with PICKIT3, I've read about loads of trouble with it, so I'd stay clear of that for now.

If you buy the PICKIT2 from Microchip-Direct, you can also get it with one of several development boards and save a little in the process.