Author Topic: Questions about Optical Switch  (Read 9539 times)

Offline DTM22Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Questions about Optical Switch
« on: November 12, 2011, 02:05:18 PM »
Hi, Im relatively new to circuit building and I decided to take on the task of building my own chronograph to measure projectile velocity.  Im using an Arduino Duemilanova microcontroller for my programming.  My sensors however are giving me some trouble.  I was told to use slotted optical switches(LED/Phototransistor).  The sensors I ordered were these:
http://www.optekinc.com/datasheets/OPB819.PDF
The problem I'm having is I simply have no idea how to wire these up. I'm hoping to drive the sensor using 5V if possible. I don't yet understand the whole concept behind calculating the base resistance needed etc.  If anyone could help me out, it would be very much appreciated.

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: Questions about Optical Switch
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2011, 03:28:24 PM »
The transistor senor's 'base' is a photo-junction and does not require a resistor as a non-photo transistor does.
Look on the left of the first diagram in the data sheet. That shows an LED and a photo-transistor. Wires these as any LED, series resistor to set the LED current) and an NPN transistor but ignore the base biasing.

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2011, 03:35:02 PM »
Hi,

Start reading this page.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2011, 04:10:59 PM »
Thanks.....So reffering to the Infrared/Emitter Detector Basic Circuit I saw on the other page

Vcc=5V
R1 would be roughly 120ohms
R2=unecessary if I understood correctly??

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2011, 07:18:31 AM »
Hi,

Vcc=5V