Author Topic: Can I drain a battery at the same time as charging it?  (Read 20131 times)

Offline crazedrobotTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Can I drain a battery at the same time as charging it?
« on: March 02, 2012, 06:03:43 PM »
Sorry if this question seems noobish, but I want to have solar panels charge a battery (probably LiPo) at the same time as I am drawing power from it. Would this work? I don't see why it wouldn't but I've never done it before. Thanks.

Offline definitionofis

• Helpful? 1
Re: Can I drain a battery at the same time as charging it?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2012, 06:17:43 PM »
Yes it will work.
Do you have a way to regulate charging so the solar panel disconnects when the voltage gets too high, which indicates the battery is fully charged? Batteries are damaged if they are over charged. Some can explode or catch fire too.

MCP73811 looks simple for LiPO
« Last Edit: March 02, 2012, 07:27:01 PM by definitionofis »

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2012, 06:55:34 PM »
Thanks for the response. Yeah I was thinking of using this charger which should connect between my solar panel and LiPo and then stop the current flow once the battery is charged.
http://www.sparkfun.com/products/8293

Offline Daanii

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 3
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2012, 07:57:32 PM »
That's a good way to do it. You lose some current charging the battery. And you lose some current discharging the battery. So hooking the load and the charger both up to the solar panel will give you the best efficiency.

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2012, 08:39:18 PM »