Author Topic: Axon II Soldering  (Read 2256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline adscott1982Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Axon II Soldering
« on: June 01, 2010, 04:14:01 PM »
Hi Guys,

I just received my Axon II from the USA. Super excited to get started but did a visual inspection and found a couple of the pins were soldered together. I'm not sure if it's intentional or not.

The pins are Bat + and G5 +.

Please find attached images:





Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,208
  • Helpful? 15
  • Hardware and Firmware Designer
    • The Hellinic Robots Portal
Re: Axon II Soldering
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 04:38:14 PM »
Shouldn't be intentional, but you won't have a problem for sure... At least if it's on the same power line... which most possibly is... ;-)
For whom the interrupts toll...

Offline adscott1982Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Axon II Soldering
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2010, 04:40:06 PM »
Oh cool, that makes sense!

Thanks for the info.  :)

Offline TrickyNekro

  • Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,208
  • Helpful? 15
  • Hardware and Firmware Designer
    • The Hellinic Robots Portal
Re: Axon II Soldering
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2010, 04:42:42 PM »
Nothing... but take a quick glance at the specs to see if what I told you for the power bus is correct...

If both are Vbat it's ok
If both are 5V it's ok
If both are 3.3V it's still ok...

If they intertwine it's NOT ok...
For whom the interrupts toll...

Offline adscott1982Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Axon II Soldering
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2010, 04:58:40 PM »
According to the datasheet:

http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon2/axon2_datasheet.shtml

They are all Battery, so it should be OK, right?

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: Axon II Soldering
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2010, 12:19:25 AM »
Yep, that joint makes that power bus battery voltage.
Howdy

Offline adscott1982Topic starter

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Helpful? 0
Re: Axon II Soldering
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2010, 01:05:45 PM »
Thanks Guys.  :D

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Axon II Soldering
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2010, 09:28:45 PM »
Its a power jumper. If you leave it, you only need one battery. If you remove it, you can power the mcu with a small battery and the servos on the power bus with a different larger battery.

See datasheet for details:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon2/axon2_datasheet.shtml

Axon II MCU Power Selection