Author Topic: Is it a waste to use a Raspbery Pi as the primary computer / controller?  (Read 2450 times)

Offline greenace92Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
My aim is to build a crawling robot ( four legs ) that operates on WiFi (initially) and then following its own "exploration protocol"

Anyway, I'm wondering if this is a waste both on power consumption and weight to use an entire computer like a Raspberry Pi.

My aim is to control it via mouse, directional pad and additional keys for other functions.

It would carry a camera (or two for stereoscopic), IR sensors, gps, accelerometers, gyros, and additional components.

Also, I'm new to this, I'd like to know what direction I should take, reading materials regarding Microcontrollers

The goal is to build small exploration drones, that operate autonomously and connect to a local transmitter / receiver which is then linked to a master transmitter/receiver whether a geosynchronous satellite or a large long distance antenna array.

I realize it's ludicrous, out of my reach

I'd appreciate any information

Just for an estimate, a simple four legged robot, maybe 8 to 12 servos, battery, computer, etc... what kind of a price tag am I looking at, bare minimum? I'm not talking a ready to buy kit, I'm looking to build from scratch. I would probably opt for laser cut wood for the body of the robot for prototyping.
My god this site's interface is a nightmare, six security questions? And every time I try to post something there is either an error or I am told "This is a double post" but the message hasn't posted.

Offline mklrobo

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
  • From Dream to Design at the speed of Imagination!
 :) Hello!
Your target goal;
The goal is to build small exploration drones, that operate autonomously and connect to a local transmitter / receiver which is then linked to a master transmitter/receiver whether a geosynchronous satellite or a large long distance antenna array.