Author Topic: Power Supply / Scavenging Components  (Read 4135 times)

Offline fridgidTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Power Supply / Scavenging Components
« on: December 08, 2011, 10:49:58 PM »
Goal: mains powered 24V DC @ 8-9A power supply

The voltage quality doesn't need to be high as it will be going into motor control chips which will regulate it or control boards which will also be able to regulate it.

Background:

I'm a senior mechanical eng undergrad student and I also have a computer science degree
I've built several robotics projects for classes before, but they've always provided a power supply or we've used batteries. I basically only have motors so far, no controllers at all (well i guess i have a small DAC board).
My current project will need to power 3 high torque stepper motors (Lin Engineering 5718L-01S) and a control board. Eventually this will be powered via a battery, but being a long term project, I'd like to create a simple 24v (ish) psu and start playing with the power draw before I commit to a battery (as weight is a large factor).

Side Question:
How do you define the power requirements of a bipolar stepper motor? Worst case 2 of the phases will be on, or I guess it depends on the controller used. I will need some degree of microstepping. Would it be false to assume that there will never be 2 phases on at any time with a controller using microstepping? If this is true, my original power calc is off. I was counting worst case of all 3 on with 2 phases active each (not sure if steppers produce additional current when being back driven that would cause a spike).

Motor Specs:
5718L-01S
Bipolar (4 leads), 1.4A / phase, 4.5 ohm / phase, inductance 15 mH/phase
http://www.linengineering.com/LinE/contents/stepmotors/5718.aspx

Assuming my power calcs are correct, I've considered many ways to approach this problem but not sure what's best. I'm not particularly adept at finding datasheets for scavenged components. Seems like an art-form really.

Ideas: