Author Topic: need help with a ac-dc conversion  (Read 2302 times)

Offline apc3161Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
need help with a ac-dc conversion
« on: May 28, 2009, 07:35:37 PM »
Hello all,

I signed up for this forum for robotics purposes (want to get started in it as a hobby) and have already started building the $50 robot. But I am a mechanical engineer, and have a question from another project about electricity production (not my strong point) . I along with others am designing/building a micro turbine. It will be about the size of a AA battery, but have a power density of basically it's fuel, ethanol, which has a power density (joule/gram) around 10x that of batteries. Hence you can see the attraction (you can also "recharge" your power source instantly, just like a car). I actually hope to test the product on a robot one day.

Anyways, being that I am a mechanical engineer, I don't know much about electricity, and need help converting an AC current from our generator to DC current.

Here is the generator (it is a DC stepper motor that we plan to use in reverse as a generator)

http://www.faulhaber-group.com/uploadpk/EN_1202BH_MMA.pdf

I was thinking of using a rectifier made up of diodes to solve our problem.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rectifier

as in this instructable

http://www.instructables.com/id/S4K4UDCF3KRXJ08/

The problem is that the details are fuzzy. I was wondering if anyone out there had any experience with converting AC to DC and electrical motors.

If so, could you recommend what diodes specifically to use, what capacitors to level out the DC output, and any other details. I would follow that instructable verbatim, I just don't know if the diodes in it are good for what I need.

Price isn't really a big deal as long as its not too astronomical.

Any help appreciated.

Offline billhowl

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 32
  • Your success is in your hands.
Re: need help with a ac-dc conversion
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2009, 02:40:46 AM »