Author Topic: How Do I React to USB input  (Read 1330 times)

Offline geekayTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
How Do I React to USB input
« on: September 12, 2011, 03:09:33 AM »
Hello all,

I am dreadfully new to hardware engineering and my track record for success when it comes to playing with hardware is--- well colorful to say the least (I have the Midas touch--- but in place of gold, I leave broken parts--- and on occasion a puff of smoke).

However, I am a pretty darn good programmer, if I do say so myself;

Now to my question:

Let me first start off by describing what I have in mind, and let me know if such a thing is even possible or if I am not thinking about it properly;
I would like to take a USB cord, have one end connect to a computer, and the other connect to some sort of circutboard; I would like it so that from the computer I can send a message that allows me to send a power/go signal to something that is connected to that board (a motor or a light,... really does not matter at that point).

I have been looking at some of the Arduino- and trying to make heads or tails of it all (all of this hardware stuff is very much beyond me--- but it is a subject that I very much want to learn about). If I am looking at it properly, it sounds like you write programs that are stored on a chip on that thingy--- but ideally I would like to use an independently running computer to send it messages to do stuff (not only can I use higher level languages to my advantage in complex programs, but also might have much better performance if I wanted to do any real number crunching).

So I guess my question is: Is this possible and what type of board/hardware-thingy am I looking for to put something like this into action.

Thank you very kindly for your time,
-GK

Offline 123laurens

• Helpful? 0
Re: How Do I React to USB input
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2011, 04:33:06 AM »