Author Topic: RoboRealm with Spy Cam  (Read 2225 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« on: April 05, 2009, 08:36:15 PM »
I am wondering, if I could buy a spy cam, have it connect to computer (wireless) run the roboRealm stuff, than send the data to my robot via bluetooth would that work as vision so it can follow people?

Offline jamort

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • Helpful? 2
Re: RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2009, 09:13:11 PM »
it works but the problem is that blue tooth will not have enough range... blue tooth normally gets about 30 feet sometimes 80 ft I have seen tops I just domnt think it would be far enough.... you could find a printer thats on the market now for like 150$ its got something in it that allows it tot get a range of about 300 feet I think I dont know how far you want as far as range though so I can really help you out
my english teacher once said, "dont talk about what you dont know in public...."

so I replied the truth, " Exactly why I dont ever talk about English."

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2009, 09:25:24 PM »
I have a blue smirf Silver right now and thats 100 feet so thats good enough for now.

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
Re: RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2009, 09:26:40 PM »
I don't see why you couldnt do what you described. Go for it  ;D

Offline offyTopic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
  • Helpful? 1
Re: RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2009, 09:29:58 PM »
going to after I finish the body, basic movement, balance, and maybe sonar for ears first.

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 952
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2009, 03:39:32 AM »
dont use bluetooth..i described object detection using opencv..see that video..umm about the wireless thing have it controlled via parallelport using ask receiver and transmitters and also using ht14e and ht14d encoder and decoder pairs...
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline MrWizard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Helpful? 0
  • My cylon friend told me a killing joke......
Re: RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2009, 05:40:41 AM »
dont use bluetooth..i described object detection using opencv..see that video..umm about the wireless thing have it controlled via parallelport using ask receiver and transmitters and also using ht14e and ht14d encoder and decoder pairs...

Bluetooth transfers data at a rate of 721 Kbps, which is from three to eight times the average speed of parallel and serial ports, respectively. This bandwidth is capable of transmitting voice, data, video and still images. So it is possible technically.


Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 952
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2009, 07:05:47 AM »
not because of the speed but because o the range..and trust me you wont need such a fast transfer of data...unless ur doing some heavy computing..
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline Razor Concepts

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,856
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
Re: RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2009, 12:08:11 PM »
I dont think he is planning to transmit the actual video with bluetooth, just the commands that tell the robot to move here or move there - so bluetooth isn't really needed. But Offy already has a bluetooth set up so why not use it for now.

Offline superchiku

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 952
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
Re: RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2009, 12:32:08 PM »
if he has already done it ...then there is no problem..and transmitting wireless is a big no no..processing will bcome much slower.. .
JAYDEEP ...

IT AND ROBOTICS ENGINEER

"IN THE END IT DOESNT EVEN MATTER"

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,702
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: RoboRealm with Spy Cam
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2009, 06:33:05 PM »
Probably too late for my comment, but yes, you can do what you ask by using bluetooth.

 


Get Your Ad Here