Author Topic: High power servo for steering on sub 30Kg robot  (Read 10753 times)

Offline mowciusTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
High power servo for steering on sub 30Kg robot
« on: April 26, 2010, 03:56:34 AM »
I am building a large robot which will be rear wheel driven, about 4' by 3', 30Kg (ish), with 10" wheels and steered on the front two wheels.

I am looking for a high powered servo for steering the front wheels. I have a stepper motor that would suffice but it would need a centre point sensor and I would rather use a servo.

I expect the servo will need to move about 5cm each way to move the steering bars for a decent turning circle (connected about 5cm from the centre of each wheel also).

Anyway, I read something about some cars using high powered servos for the windscreen wipers. Anyone know more about this? Anything I should look out for when I go down the scrap yard?

Anyone got any ideas? I am new to this but have a reasonable amount of experience in electronics.

Thanks,

Mowcius

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: High power servo for steering on sub 30Kg robot
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2010, 09:45:57 PM »
Hi,

Anything I should look out for when I go down the scrap yard?
Splinters!

You'd be better off making your own servo system.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2010, 01:40:41 AM »
You'd be better off making your own servo system.
Any recommendations though?

I am prepared to make my own if necessary but I thought an automotive one might do just fine.

Splinters!
I'll be taking gloves :p

Mowcius

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2010, 05:00:57 PM »
Hi,