go away spammer

Author Topic: Robot for visualistic studies  (Read 1305 times)

Offline kaffeeTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Robot for visualistic studies
« on: September 06, 2010, 05:54:00 AM »
Hi @all,

I am really new to the whole robotic thing ;)

I just want to ask if someone may know a robot (kit) programmable in C or similiar including the following features :

->Stereo Vision Cams (just two cams or the ability two add one)
->Wifi connection (the whole image processing should take place on a linux pc using the GPU etc. not on a micro-controller)
->Basic movements (forward,backward,rotate)

There don't have to be other sensors.

I heard about the surveyor svs but maybe their exists something even cheaper then this because as you know as a student you have a really small budget.   :'(

I've even thought of building something on my own - however, I dont think I have the skills to build something like that just out of the box without any experience.

Maybe one of you can help :)

Regards,kaffee

Offline Ro-Bot-X

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 25
  • Store: RoBotXDesigns.ca
    • Ro-Bot-X Designs
Re: Robot for visualistic studies
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2010, 06:49:24 AM »
You are better building it yourself from off the shelf parts. All you need to do is mount the parts together. If you buy a ready available kit, you still have to mount the parts, but it will be more expensive, as someone else has done the research selecting the parts in that kit.

If the system will use a computer for processing, you have 2 options:
- buy a MiniITX or NanoITX PC board and install it on the robot and use cheap webcams for vision
- buy a wireless router and install it on the robot and use IP cameras for vision