Author Topic: A bit of help in designing  (Read 1787 times)

Offline SushiKittenTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
A bit of help in designing
« on: April 09, 2013, 08:16:33 AM »
Hello!

I've been playing around with robots the past few months. My work term job this semester involved working with robots like the Pololu 3pi, Thymio II, and with different applications of the Arduino, such as building a small two wheeled robot. I've ended up with a bit of an interest in robotics and I want to try stuff on my own. My big goal is to create a biped robot, similar to the Bioloid, but slightly simpler and cheaper since tbh I feel like I can make something similar without paying an arm and leg for their design and software.

I was considering slowly getting each piece I need by making smaller robots, deconstructing them and building up to my biped design. However, as a student, I cannot afford the $40 servos that the Bioloid uses. Are there any cheaper alternatives?

And as for designing a biped robot, I would need a servo for each joint that I want to move, correct? Also, are there any larger microcontroller boards that you would recommend?

And lastly, for someone just starting out in DIY robotics, what would you suggest is necessary to have in your arsenal of equipment?

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: A bit of help in designing
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2013, 08:39:55 AM »
And as for designing a biped robot, I would need a servo for each joint that I want to move, correct?
Yes.

Also, are there any larger microcontroller boards that you would recommend?