go away spammer

Author Topic: $50 robot eagle PCB review  (Read 1949 times)

Offline ErikYTopic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
$50 robot eagle PCB review
« on: June 21, 2012, 03:11:21 PM »
Would someone be so kind as to review my $50 robot eagle PCB board?

I am relatively new to electronics, and this is my first eagle project, so while it looks right to me, I suspect I may have some errors.

Note, this is for the 6pin programmer with both the 4AA and the 9V battery packs, per webbot's PDF picture.

I had been trying for about 2 weeks to properly solder the board, and I am having a brutal time soldering. I have very shaky hands and the tight connections are virtually impossible for me.

I figured I would give Eagle a shot and I really liked it.

If I can get the eagle board right, I next need to learn how to etch and transfer!

Thanks!

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: $50 robot eagle PCB review
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2012, 01:56:55 PM »
Hi,

Always include both schematic and PCB layout as they may both be needed (but don't include a large number of the back-up files that Eagle makes at every save, as they're not needed here.

I am relatively new to electronics, and this is my first eagle project, so while it looks right to me, I suspect I may have some errors.

Note, this is for the 6pin programmer with both the 4AA and the 9V battery packs, per webbot's PDF picture.

I had been trying for about 2 weeks to properly solder the board, and I am having a brutal time soldering. I have very shaky hands and the tight connections are virtually impossible for me.

If I can get the eagle board right, I next need to learn how to etch and transfer!
For a first time attempt, it ain't half bad, but there's room for improvement of course...

About PCB layout in general:
Always use single sided PCB material if at all possible - it's cheaper and you won't have to solder both sides.