go_away

Author Topic: Dead-reckoning robot  (Read 3275 times)

Offline arixroboticsTopic starter

• Helpful? 3
    • TalasTronics WCIT KL2008 Fund Raising
Dead-reckoning robot
« on: August 03, 2008, 06:09:04 AM »
Hello roboteers,

One part of my final year project for my degree is to build a mobile robot that can move along a predefined path as accurately as possible.

The robot will need to move around and then come back to its starting position and orientation. The idea is to place a video recorder on it, and record the surrounding as it moves. It will need to come back to its starting position so that the video can be played in a continuous loop without any breaks in the video.

I'm thinking of a few options here:

1. Place encoders on the wheels and do some smart control (PID etc) on the uC to get it follow that path.

2. Make a very good line following robot. Make a line along the path to be taken, and let the robot follow that line.

Can you guys think of any other method I could use? Or any other comments?

Offline JesseWelling

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
  • Only You Can Build A Robot!
Re: Dead-reckoning robot
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2008, 08:14:10 AM »
In addition to one of those have the robot take snapshot of it's starting position and don't stop till it gets a match when it returns?

Offline bens

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 3
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2008, 04:19:11 PM »