go away spammer

Author Topic: Need Help on gesture based angle control  (Read 1707 times)

Offline thesidjwayTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Need Help on gesture based angle control
« on: January 06, 2015, 01:30:17 AM »

I am a beginner as far as robotics is concerned, but have basic knowledge about embedded coding, differential drives etc. I currently am building a robot for a robotics competition that requires hand gesture based motion of robots and picking up blocks and depositing them at safe zones, while avoiding mines which are to be detected using metal detection. The problem statement of the event is here.

To make the gesture based motion control, what I wanted to do was to rotate my bot with the same angle as my hand and then move the bot forward. That according to me would be a very convenient way to control a robot. The bot would follow the rotation of my hand.

What I thought could be used was a pair of stepper motors for the differential drive, and I thought of using a LED-LDR pair to govern whether the bot was rotating (wheels spinning in opp. direction) or traversing (same direction), with the sensor on the palm of my hand. For the locomotion, I thought of using a MPU 6050 accelerometer+gyro sensor. But now the problem is that I don't know whether torque of stepper motors (0.65Kg-cm) would be able to bear the weight of my bot (about 1.5kgs) and how in the world am I supposed to attach the robotic wheels to the stepper.

Using a simple geared DC motor for the same could be a solution, but I don't know how to implement that in Arduino code. And also the motion could depend upon the surface of contact of the bot with the arena which I don't know.

Please help me out of this problem

Thanks in Advance

Siddharth Jha

Offline mklrobo

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
  • From Dream to Design at the speed of Imagination!
Re: Need Help on gesture based angle control
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2015, 09:57:48 AM »