Author Topic: I think I bought the wrong battery pack !!  (Read 2950 times)

Offline Hasan999Topic starter

• Helpful? 1
I think I bought the wrong battery pack !!
« on: September 24, 2009, 06:23:31 AM »
Hi... Im a beginner. I bought everything together, an Axon Microcontroller (from Society of robots) and Servos/sensors/batteries etc from Lynxmotion.

Everything is fine, except for the Batteries (my mistake, didn't realize while ordering) that it cannot be used in a Microcontroller !!

I bought 2 of these:  :-[

First, please tell me that will a battery pack of 7.2V be ok for AxonMicrocontroller (on which I'll use 26 of HS-422 Standard Servos) ?

(if not, which battery pack should I have? - where can I buy that from?)

Second, (if the first answer is "yes"), is it somehow possible to use the battery pack (that I bought) for the Microcontroller? is there any converter cable? ...what do you suggest?

Third, should I do this: (i have no experience, let me know if it is a stupid idea) I was wondering, that the Switch (provided) which has 3 cables, 1 for the battery, the other for Microcontroller, the third for...(i dont know).... what if i cut the third cable, and replace THAT with the big pin Battery cable?  :-\

Need help, urgently.

Thanks a lot.

Offline Trumpkin

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 5
Re: I think I bought the wrong battery pack !!
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 07:21:06 AM »
First, please tell me that will a battery pack  of 7.2V  be ok for AxonMicrocontroller
Yep, 7.2v is fine for the microcontroller, but some servos might fry at that voltage.
Second, (if the first answer is "yes"), is it somehow possible to use the battery pack
Sure it is, I would suggest snipping off the current connector and soldering on two breakaway female headers, like this http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=115