go away spammer

Author Topic: New robot builder, H-bridge/Motor question  (Read 4182 times)

Offline bshibleyTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
New robot builder, H-bridge/Motor question
« on: March 12, 2007, 01:55:56 PM »
Hello,
I'm new to building robots, but I'm a junior computational physics major, so I should be capable.  I started simple with a LEGO Mindstorm and have been reading the tutorials and such for a while to build a robot from scratch.  I have a Digilent Cerebot board (http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Detail.cfm?Prod=CEREBOT&Nav1=Products&Nav2=Embedded) which I've been using for my microprocessors course.  This is what I plan to use for the logic.  It supports up to 8 servos and 3 Digilent H-bridge modules (http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Detail.cfm?Prod=PMOD-HB5&Nav1=Products&Nav2=Peripheral or http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Detail.cfm?Prod=PMOD-HB3&Nav1=Products&Nav2=Peripheral).
For this project, I would like to build a 4wd rover which I can continuously build upon while learning robotics.  The first step is to have it drive with just a simple program controlling the motors.  Since the board only supports 3 of the Digilent H-bridge modules, is it possible to run two DC motors in parallel (ie. the right side motors) off of the same H-bridge by doubling the current through the H-bridge?  If so, is this wise?  I figured I could make my own H-bridges and work around the limitations of the board, but I was curious about how an experience builder would approach this problem.
Thank you for your time.

Offline Eco19R

• Helpful? 0
Re: New robot builder, H-bridge/Motor question
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2007, 05:01:44 PM »
Why do you need 4 motors? just use two motors with gears or chains or w/e -  drive the two right side wheels with one motor and the two left side wheels with one motor.

« Last Edit: March 12, 2007, 05:02:53 PM by Eco19R »

Offline bshibleyTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0